Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

ECX Torment 110th Short Course Truck 2.4GHz RTR, RedGrey

ECX Torment 1/10th 2WD Short Course Truck
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 10(90%)customers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Torment 110th Short Course Truck 2.4GHz RTR, RedGrey
Review 1 for Torment 110th Short Course Truck 2.4GHz RTR, RedGrey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mg71
Location: Central Oregon
I would recommend this to a friend!
Awesome Truck
 PostedOctober 18, 2012
As a 41 year old beginner, I purchased the ECX 4000 (Orange & Black) for my birthday. This is an amazing vehicle for the price and quality! Everything has worked great right out of the box. I've run the heck out of it for the past 3 weeks, and with the help of my kids it has bounced off a few trees, curbs, etc. at full speed. So far it has only wound up with a slight scuff on the body; nothing has hurt or broke anything on this truck yet.
The only thing that I don't like about this RTR is the battery life. At 3.5 hours of charge time, 15 to maybe 20 mins. of run time isn't much to write home about. Of course that is easily changable.
Since the Torment is also upgradeable, I don't see myself getting another RC anytime soon. I recomened this truck 100% to anyone out there looking to purchase a good quality RC at a great price!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Torment 110th Short Course Truck 2.4GHz RTR, RedGrey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Indyken
Location: Concord, NC
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Cars/Trucks/Buggies
Age: 35-44
Length of time in hobby: 21-29 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Best value for a RC Newbie
 PostedJune 26, 2012
I purchased three of these for my three boys (6, 8 & 10 years old) where they are not the most gentle drivers. Truck is perfect for the RC Newbie but get ready to buy a lot of front suspension parts because their durability leaves a lot to be desired. Very easy to fix most anything on this vehicle and the costs on parts in much better than Traxxas or Team Associated products. Would I buy again? Sure.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Torment 110th Short Course Truck 2.4GHz RTR, RedGrey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ecxlover
I would recommend this to a friend!
Bets car
 PostedMay 17, 2012
I just purchased this wonderful car that i am very happy with.i just want to know what is the fastest motor yall have so i can get the best out of this car
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Torment 110th Short Course Truck 2.4GHz RTR, RedGrey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CREZAS
Location: SURREY , BRITISH COLUMBIA
Hobbyist Type: Beginner
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: Other
Age: 18-24
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
THIS COOL TORMENT
 PostedFebruary 13, 2012
I BOUGHT THIS IN FEBURUARY 11TH , 2012 IN APOLLO HOBBIES AT BURNABY , BRITISH COLUMBIA .
IT IS COST $169.99 EA PLUS TAXES
SO IT IS TOTAL OF TOGETHER $190.00 BUCKS
I REALLY LIKE IT . IT VERY PROFFESIONAL TORMENT . I 'M SO IN BASICS TO HANDLE MY RC OFF - CAR. IT IS ALMOST LIKE TRAXXAS SLASH 2WD .
MAYBE AT MY BIRTHDAY AT JUNE 5 , I MIGHT BUY A BETTER ESC SO IT CAN BE WATERPROOF FROM TRAXXAS AND BETTER BATTERY SO IT CAN LAST SO LONG AFTER PLAY AND AFTER PLAY AND GET EZ PEAK FROM TRAXXAS SO CHARGED REALLY FASTER.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Torment 110th Short Course Truck 2.4GHz RTR, RedGrey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wayne1225
Hobbyist Type: Competitive
Frequency of Use: Daily
Hobby use: RC Cars/Trucks/Buggies
Age: 25-34
Length of time in hobby: 11-20 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
it was a good buy
 PostedJanuary 9, 2012
my torment has been good to me i wished this truck had better drive shafts my is so powerful i keep twisting them off thay need to be metal. i have had my truck on a course and it did very good for the price i have had good come backs on this truck all you need to do to hop it up put a 12t mortor and a venom power 4200 mah 7.2 high power nimh battery in it and watch it come alive all it costes is $ 60.00 if you have trans problums put metal gears in it you will not have any problums it costs $22.00 on ebay part number is ecx 9001
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Torment 110th Short Course Truck 2.4GHz RTR, RedGrey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alien1
Hobbyist Type: Beginner
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Age: 55-64
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great Buy
 PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Red & Gray Torment
I ordered a Red & Gray Torment for my grandson for Christmas on Saturday and it was delivered the following Tuesday. Great service! I read the instructions, charged the battery and took it for a test drive. It's hard for me to believe that you get a Spectrum DX2E 2.4 GHz Radio System with it for about $40 less than the Traxxas Slash I bought a few years ago! I really like the way the battery is secured. No Velcro or pins to lose. Nice job Horizon!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Torment 110th Short Course Truck 2.4GHz RTR, RedGrey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EXTRACER
Location: IRWIN PA
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Cars/Trucks/Buggies
Age: 25-34
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
WOW
 PostedDecember 28, 2011
BOUGHT THIS AS A IMPULSE BUY AND WAS I SURPRISE A REAL SPECTRUM RADIO RUNS VERY WELL WITH STOCK MOTOR AND SPEED CONTROL BUT THE STEERING IS A DIFFRENT STORY THE STOCK SERVO DOES WHAT I GUESS IT IS TO DO BUT VERY SLOW AND VERY NOISY AND THE SERVO SAVER IS WAY TO WEEK WITH A LITTLE WORK I RESOLVED THIS ISSUE THIS TRUCK FORCED ME TO ALSO PURCHAS THE RUCKUS AND BOOST ALL OF THEM ARE VERY WELL MADE AND FOR THE PRICE RTR WHAT A DEAL I HAVE RAN A STOCK BRUSHLESS MOTOR AND MOD BRUSHLESS IN ALL AND HAD NO PROBLEMS HOW EVER WITH THE STOCK SPUR GEAR YOU CAN ONLY GEAR UP NOT DOWN HOW EVER THE SPUR GEAR FOR AE SC10 FITS GREAT ALL YOU NEED TO DO IS REDRILL THE CENTER HOLE OVER ALL A GREAT TRUCK AND FOR THE ONES THAT ARE TRING TO GET INTO THIS HOBBY WHAT A AFFORDABLE WAY CANT WAIT TO SEE THIS IN THE DIRT ONLY BEEN RACING ON CARPET IN PA AT PTRACEWAY
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Torment 110th Short Course Truck 2.4GHz RTR, RedGrey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TeamFST
Location: Rockwood mi
Hobbyist Type: Competitive
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Cars/Trucks/Buggies
Age: 25-34
Length of time in hobby: 11-20 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Perfect!
 PostedDecember 13, 2011
The Torment is the perfect carpet track truck! It blows the wheels off the Traxxas Slash. The price is right for just about anyone's pocket. Durability is great, i have crashed this truck quite a bit and it has never broke! The only problem i have is with the drive shaft yokes popping off, other than that no issues. Horizon Hobby has the fix for the driveshafts, it is an aluminum collar that surrounds the yoke, i suggest buying them! Suspension is a little plush for racing, but nothing that an avid racer hasn't dealt with before. The plastic shocks i figured would give me problems, but after 30+ races have not failed yet. The tires hook well on carpet despite their hard compound. The battery strap bar is a nice feature over the Velcro ones that some other brands offer. The battery tray will fit lipo's if you loosen the screws on the gray wing nuts.This truck's non-adjustable suspension links have been upgraded to adjustable ones, just to get the roll center right. I am running the stock motor and speed controller and am just as fast as the brush-less guys in the 17.5 stock class. The stock servo is fine for bashing and racing, but it is a little slow. FOR THE MONEY YOU CAN NOT ASK FOR A BETTER DEAL!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Torment 110th Short Course Truck 2.4GHz RTR, RedGrey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SCTdude
Location: Southern California
I would recommend this to a friend!
Torment is Great Value
 PostedSeptember 15, 2012
I have used this Torment for about 3 weeks now and I think it is a fantastic beginner’s r/c truck. I am totally hooked. The Spectrum radio is responsive and very easy to use. I did replace the standard 20t motor with a Titan 12t motor and it increased the power a lot. I also bought a 4500 mAh battery which extended my run time to about 30 minutes. Only one part has broken on it and that is the hold-down on the body support tower. The pin still goes in but the plastic is split. Really the only downside to this truck is the very high center of gravity that it was designed with. It is quite easy to flip the car over when you hit the dividers sideways or just catch a rut in the dirt. I also find that the high CG also makes traction in less than ideal circumstances very difficult to get. The Torment is a very fun truck to drive and a great value for the money. Thank you for getting me back into the hobby!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Torment 110th Short Course Truck 2.4GHz RTR, RedGrey
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
xnxaxtx
Location: henderson, nevada
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Hobby use: RC Cars/Trucks/Buggies
Age: 18-24
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
worst thing ever
 PostedJanuary 1, 2012
this rc car has been nothing but trouble for me. first it was the motor, then the controller. then i got a brand new one, then it was the gears connected to the motor, the little bolt that kept the gear in place wouldent stay in. now im stuck with this car. thank god i got the slash from traxxas. oh ya, you stole at least 4 or your car models from theres. the torment being one of them. the only thing god about this care was the cover.
0 of 8 found this review helpful.