Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

E-flite Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF

The Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF is perfect for the intermediate to advanced skilled 3D flyer that is looking for a superior performing plane, but is frustrated with the time and cost of repairing balsa.
Average Customer Rating:
4.59 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
56 out of 61(92%)customers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF
Review 41 for Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CrunchyThump
Location: Houston, TX
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Carbon Z Yak 54
 PostedJanuary 18, 2011
I'm flying the Yak 54 as a sport plane and adding 3D gradually at altitude.
I was flying a Pulse 60 most often before I got the Yak.
The purpose of my post is to tell sport pilots that this a great sport-flying airplane that allows you to experiment with 3D as you feel more comfortable.
This is the first time I've really experienced "unlimited vertical." The power to weight ratio is impressive. It snaps just fine on low rates. In fact it does all the sport flying well on low rates. On high rates, you'd better have the little "pilot" strapped in good.
Landings are very easy. Use a little power on final. Visibility is good with the color scheme used, but don't let it get too far away. At full throttle it will disappear on you if you go to sleep at the switch.
You will need several batteries. Flight time is 5-7 minutes depending on how you fly it.
I look forward to seeing many other Carbon-Z planes in the future. It's a winner.
Review 42 for Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boneswamped
Location: DeRidder, LA
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
Precision fun in a box!
 PostedJuly 22, 2011
The Yak-54 Carbon Z is the best aircraft on the market in its size at any cost! I have never flown a more precise aircraft that provides as much fun as economically as the Yak-54. It doesn't have a single nasty habit in flight. It is so stable that a beginner would be successful if the control throws were reduced and a bit of expo added. The advanced pilots will appreciate the crisp, previously unattainable, handling this foam aircraft provides. Carbon-Z construction is the new standard by which the foam will be judged! It is truly unlimited straight out of the box. I have a single complaint; the stock prop (that the accountants undoubtedly insisted on for profit margin) is garbage. I couldn't get the prop to balance without removing an unsafe amount of material from the hub. I believe this is why some users are having failure in the original motor mount. Horizon sent me the Upgrade mount free of charge, but with a balanced APC prop I'm still using the original mount with no issues and close to 100 flights. Rock on horizon! When's the Sbach Carbon-Z in this size coming out?
Review 43 for Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NewEFlyer
Location: Rochester, MN
I would recommend this to a friend!
Fun to FLY !!
 PostedJanuary 28, 2013
I flew the YAK 54 all summer and fall of 2012 and had a blast with it. This was my first larger plane after flying parkzone micros. Plenty of power. The people that I was flying with were amazed at this plane's ability to climb vertically and how well it behaved. If there were any problems it was always with the pilot, me. Parts are very reasonable. I took out fuse on this and it was less that 30 bucks to repair and a couple of hours to move the electronics. You can't do that with a balsa plane. The only complaint I have about this plane is that it is hard to take off and land on grass and the landing gear is weak. On take off you have to use alot of elevator to keep the nose out of the grass even after replacing the stock wheels with larger ones. The wire landing gear also has a tendancy to bend backwards causing a toe out alignment issue with the wheels. If there was one suggestion I would make about this plane is that I wish the landing gear would have been moved about a inch closer to the nose of the airplane. I'm sure on a hard surface landing gear would be quite adequet but on grass it's mediocre.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RBSteffey
Location: DC RC
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Carbon Z-Yak 54
 PostedMarch 17, 2011
E-Flite has done it again with this Yak. I did have an issue with the first BNF i got. When I bound the Rx all surfaces went full deflection and servos where all straining...I quickly shut off, check everything over and the aileron servo bound in the full deflection, servo shorted out. Called Horizon and spoke with tech who said that I need to pay return shipping and they will take a look at it. Long story short, I climbed the ladder with support personnel until reaching someone at HQ. Finally got an all new BNF sent and this one works great!! Bound and flew last weekend and this plane has some serious vertical. Had one landing where I flared a bit early and she stalled and hit harder than I would have liked, no damage at all. Gear splayed out and absorbed the impact, chipped prop.
This plane has incredible flight characteristics, and the speed is impressive (Cannot over-speed this thing) Linkages are all tight, absolutely no slop what so ever so no issues like flutter.
If you are looking for a fun electric 3D plane, E-Flite's Z-Yak is the plane you.....This plane is well worth the price, and it is tough!
Review 45 for Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Location: Seattle, WA
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 46-55
Length of time in hobby: 11-20 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Simply Love it!
 PostedJanuary 30, 2011
This is a great electric all-around airplane. No matter whether you like to fly precision aerobatics or free-style 3D. Construction is minimum out-of-the-box but make sure you use the right screw in each step as the instruction does not call out the dimension of the screws. Also make sure the wing assembly holes are fully aligned with the plastic wing holder holes, which may require some pushing force to get there. Gave Qaulity 4 star because on mine the ESC was mounted TOO FAR FWD, so the motor actually touched the ESC wires when it spins, check yours! The pain job is decent but I made one mistake trying to get the Eflite stickers off the airplane and it peeled off the wet paint with it so don't try it with yours. In the air the Yak54 is the best electric airplane I've ever flown - predictible, powerful, and tracking is great! Some negative elevator coupling is needed when doing a knife edge (as indicated by the "Advance Set Up" section). Aileron Roll rate with high rate is GREAT and very clean! Landing gear is flexible and strong. Stock digital servos are great too. The stock 2800mAh battery works fine but if you mix 3D routines in your flight then the run time will be on the low side ~ to 6 min. l use and recommed the 3300mAh batteries from Hyperion or Gens Ace. Overall a GREAT PACKAGE, nice design and great value!
Review 46 for Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hubschrauber
Location: Mesa, AZ
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 46-55
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
One tough plane
 PostedMarch 17, 2011
After reading many rc threads and watching tons of youtube vids, I decided to purchase the cz yak 54. I have previous experience (one year) with cp helis, and floating foamies, and I decided that this plane could bridge the gap between my foamies and the more expensive balsa/ply planes. I was also attracted by the plane's advertised durability. I have now had several successful flights, and one painful crash that was caused when I lost orientation of the plane as I flew it in front of the side of a mountain. The plane's durability is as advertized. Those who saw the plane crash were certain that I would return from my "walk of shame" with bits and pieces of a busted airplane. Everyone, including myself was surprised to see the plane intact with only minor damage to the fuse, and a small scuff to one of the wings. The canopy came off the plane (pilot ejected safely), the motor mount was bent, and the motor shaft was also bent. Even the prop. survived the crash in one piece (I will, however, replace it). This plane is not as easy to fly as a 3d foamy. It loves to fly fast. Landing this plane gently requires skills that I haven't acquired yet. Nevertheless, the plane is a blast to fly. The only gripe that I have is that I wish the paint scheme on the plane would make it easier to identify what you are looking at when it is flying.
Review 47 for Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
mhendrix
Location: Tallahassee, FL
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Overpriced fun with flaws
 PostedJune 25, 2013
Let me start by saying the e-flite yak is a good plane. I learned aerobatics on this plane and just remember it IS NOT A 3D plane. It's very heavy and requires modification to get a good CG for that type of flight.
Main points:
1) It is way too expensive for what you get.
2) The motor and ESC are super strong for this plane (almost overkill - good reason to avoid if you are a beginner). The yak is crazy fast which is a lot of fun for this plane
3) Weak spot - there is a known weak spot right in the center of the fuse at the "vents" - if you have a rough landing, it WILL split in half (5 minute epoxy and you're good though)
4) Servos - they're garbage. Even with aerobatic flight they're prone to stripping. If you're already $400 in to this plane, go the extra $100 and get hitech 82MGs.
5) Another note for beginners/intermediate pilots... you have to "fly" this plane. It won't float around. It will fall right out of the sky. You have to make turns and ESPECIALLY land with power which brings me to my next point.
6) Landing gear - flimsy at best. Weak and bends easily. If you're flying on a grassy runway - toss the wheel pants and get some bigger wheels.
Summary: I apologize for the condescending tone of my review. For the amount of money you'll need to put in to this plane... there are many more options in the $400-$500 range. Avoid if you're a beginner. It's not meant for 3D flight. It's a great plane to drop in your lipo and have some high speed fun! Pay attention and "fly" this bird :-)
User submitted photo
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spitfire19692
Location: Moline Illinois
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 35-44
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
ONE MEAN AEROBATIC MACHINE!!!!!!
 PostedOctober 29, 2011
Just flew my new CZ YAK 54 today for the first time, what a MONSTER!
the sheer power of this plane is insane!
I bound it to my DX6I and set it to the recomended settings and flew it on low rates and only had to give it 2 clicks of up elevator. it handled beautifully!
I fly at a grass flying field and the ground handleing was very nice. the take off was amazing the power this plane has lifted it to vertical right away. The vertical climb rate is amazing.
it handled so well that I was doing loops, rolls, inverted and cuban eights on the maiden flight!
This plane flys great Fast or slow, No bad tendancies at all.
The landing was very straight forward and comfortable, 1/4 throttle on the downwind turn and it settles right in to a nice easy to maintain glide slope, at 1 to 2 feet off the ground I started to flare it a bit and it landed beautifully without a hop or bounce.
the only 2 things I dont like about it was the instructions was not very clear on assembly as to what screws to use where and the fact that the reciever is located under a hatch on the bottom of the plane, makes it a real hassle to bind the tx to it after flying other planes.
I would recomend this plane to anyone with experience flying the UM Sukoi SU 26.
This plane handles wind well also.
DEFINATELY NOT FOR BEGINNERS!
Even on low rates this plane is capable of very high speeds in excess of 70+ mph and is highly manouverable.
WAY TO GO E-FLITE you hit one out of the park with is one!
When is the SBACH 342 in this size and constuction comming out?
I will DEFINATELY BUY ONE when it does.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
matthard35
Location: Pierre, South Dakota
I would recommend this to a friend!
Good 3-D LEARNING airplane... Just buy PARTS...
 PostedJanuary 13, 2014
I have flown the Carbon Z for years since it came out, and the one thing that sets this airplane apart from the rest is that the PARTS are REPLACEABLE... I have wrecked it horribly at least 10 times, and beat it up like a bad step child... If you screw up a wing, you can just buy another and replace it. I quickly decided to just buy two new fuselages, two elevator halves, two left wings, two right, etc... I'm glad I did that because it taught me a lot about 3-D flying... The servos could be better, but I have only had to replace one in 300 flights, so they are adequate. Doing hovers and rolling harriers is VERY difficult with this plane, but it's a good teacher. Do those things HIGH until you are confident. My advice is fly this plane, and when you can do knife edges and 3D moves, buy a Precision Aerobatics Katana MX or something that is feather light, and you'll just be awesome.
The best thing about the Carbon Z is that it can be glued at the field, and has replacement parts, which you will need. Heating the landing gear with a blow torch about 3 inches up from the wheels and bending them to where the plane sits up high is a good idea. Don't heat too much of course... If you need a new receiver, buy the new one with AS3X technology and it will fix a lot of the issues with coupling I would think. I had to mix my "rudder to elevator" in order to do straight knife edges, which isn't anything new. Everyone seems to hate the 12 by 5.25 props but I just hub balance mine and they work great. Take the landing gear pants off for grass and ALWAYS use low rates when taking off or landing because the elevator fronts will catch and break, which is easily fixed with foam safe CA and accellerator. But the cool thing is a crash usually only costs you a few bucks with this plane, instead of a thousand like my 120cc Beast or 55cc planes... Good practicer!
Review 50 for Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
warbirdexpert
Location: Everett, WA
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
CZ yak 54 review
 PostedMarch 1, 2013
This plane is a serious buyer beware... I have 2 of them and they both sit for lack of parts availability. When I purchased my first one about 6 months ago this is what I found;
#1. Servos in the tail section (elevator and rudder) not glued so on the maiden flight plane got in the air no problem then did its best to tear itself apart before I could get it back on the grass. Upon inspection it was clear that when this product was built not one ounce of glue was used to hold any of the servos including the ailerons. An easy fix but almost costed my a plane right out of the gate (If I was flying over anything but deep grass this plane would have been toasted.)
#2. Zero friction hinges. The absolute WORST hinging system I have ever seen on a sport/ aerobatic plane. The end of the hinges on the main wing had ripped themselves out by the third flight. The first few flights on this bird I took it really easy (gentle pattern flying) and virtually ever control surface started falling apart at the seams. Had to completely disassemble ALL hinges, and re-engineer a center hinged mounting system that wouldn't fall apart with the kind of freestyle flying I hoped to do with this plane.
#3. Parts availability. Was able to get a fuse back in November.... and they have not had it in stock ever since. So one yak is strictly for pattern flying as it is not symetrical enough to freestyle with anymore and the other sits because I am afraid the Horizon is Never going to release a decent fuse any time soon. When folks buy a competition level plane this is NOT the kind of things they want to deal with. This is my first bad experience with Horizon, and they are taking FOREVER to make things right for this product. If they ever have fuses available I will write another review (for the pnp I purchased.) I could tell that this plane has great potential once I spent several days going over every control surface and mechanical linkage - after doing that I had a respectable freestyle plane that flies like a dream but the dream was very short without parts in the supply chain pipeline.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sid1
Location: Franklin, NC
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Length of time in hobby: 11-20 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Excellent plane, great value for money
 PostedOctober 2, 2011
This includes everything you need except a suitable transmitter and a 12V supply for the included charger.
Very little work required - four screws for the landing gear, one screw for each wing half, one screw for the rudder and one screw for each elevator half. Everything snaps right in, securing each part with screws is quick. No glue needed.
The only drawback is that the kit comes with more screws than needed, and no explanation as to which ones go where. The pictures are B&W and the background color makes it impossible to see which screws are used where. Still, this is a minor problem and my guesses seem to have been good enough.
I put the battery as far back as it would go, the plane seemed to balance okay (perhaps a bit front heavy) so I didn’t bother measuring CG.
I put all links in the outermost holes on the servo horns. The instructions say to put it further in on the elevator, I decided to ignore that.
It is definitely a good idea to set up dual rates and exponential for the elevator and ailerons until you get used to the high rates. My Futaba 9C settings were (rate/expo) : Elevator high 100/-50, low 25/-25. Ailerons high 100/-60, low 30/-30. Rudder 100/-50, no low rate.
Even with the low rates, it rolls quite fast. During the maiden flight (on low rates) I found myself wanting a bit more elevator throw (although the plane performed okay with my initial settings), so I landed and adjusted the elevator low rate to 40/-25. Now it was more to my taste, and even after running out of juice I had no problems landing - in heavy crosswind.
I briefly tried the high rates at altitude, they seem promising but will take some getting used to.
There is plenty of power in this package and I'm pretty sure it will do a knife-edge loop without any problems.
The foam used in this plane seems very sturdy.
Getting an extra battery or two is a good idea unless you have other planes to fly while you wait for the battery to recharge - it's fun to fly this plane and you probably don't want to wait an hour for the next flight.
Bottom line: this plane appears solid, flies great, and offers excellent value for money.
(Note: This is not a plane for beginners.)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flyinghobo
Location: Folsom, CA
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 65 or over
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Lovin it!
 PostedSeptember 27, 2011
My friend and I started flying 8 months ago. Our instructor chose the E-flite Apprentice for us to learn on. What a great plane for training. Within 90 days we both soloed and were up and going. Both of us have a "need for speed" so our instructor recommended that our next airplane should be a T-28. We watched as the others took his advice but the T-28 just seemed slow. Being risk takers we decided to buy a YAK 54.
Our instructor thought we were crazy having flown only a short time. The YAK came nicely packaged. It was easy to assemble. We were excited about flying it! We took it to the field, and the guys knowing our experience level as beginners, thought we were a bit extreme. As we preflighted the plane the control horn for the rudder fell out; it had not been properly glued. We aborted flying for that day, glued the control horn and returned a couple of days later. Everything was in order and I took off experiencing exhilarting acceleration and response. I immediately fell in love with this plane. By the way, we did take the advice of our instructor and put all of the throws on the lowest settings. The maiden flight went well and then my friend got his turn. I think it was on the second turn that the plane banked uncontrollably and dove straight into the ground. My friend said he had no control. Upon inspection we found that the control horn on the right wing aileron had fallen out; it had not been glued properly. As a result the plane broke in half and the ESC was destroyed. I called Horizon Hobby and they sent us free of charge a new ESC and a new fuselage.
We were able to get the plane back together and it looks brand new. Since then both of us have been flying it and have a great time everytime we take it out. Our club members are now buying YAKS as well. We just purchased our second one yesterday so we can fly at the same time. The YAK will do anything you want it to do. It is very responsive, and for me the power is just what I needed to keep me out of trouble. When something goes wrong I pull the nose up and give if full power!
The YAK is extremely durable; we have had some hard landings and it seems that the plane just shakes it off and keeps on going. The battery life is only about 5 minutes so we have a bunch of batteries. This by far is our favorite plane. We have been flying 8 months and we are looking like "pros"
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 53 for Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OhioDave
Location: Troy, Ohio
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 35-44
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great airplane!
 PostedJanuary 6, 2012
I went back and forth on getting this airplane for months. My first airplane was the Parkzone Gunfighter, and it is simply fantastic. Never had worries with it, just throw in the battery and go. My next few airplanes were all cheap Chinese models. Most fly good to great, but all take serious tweeking and careful balancing that becomes a pain in the you-know-what a lot of the time. I consider myself an "advanced intermediate" flyer, and really wanted a 3-D airplane to learn on, but it was hard to pull the trigger on the Yak due to it's price vs. many larger Chinese models. I finally said, what the heck- Horizon stuff, though expensive, is always very high quality.
I was right, for the most part. I broght the box to the field and put the airplane together on a picknick table in about 1/2 hour while the battery charged. I set up my JR11X exactly like the instructions say (VERY IMPORTANT- YOU WILL CRASH IF YOU DON'T ON YOUR MAIDEN FLIGHT!) and gave her a whirl. Wow!
This is not an airplane for beginners. You need to be able to have 100% control over your airplane at all times before you attempt to fly this bird. It is astonishingly quick and snappy, and you will get yourself in big trouble if you can't stay on top of it. But for the seasoned intermediate pilot, this is THE perfect airplane for learning 3D flight. It has tremendous power, and will pull out of any "accidental" attitude. Just point the airplane above the horizon and gun the power- it will take off like a rocket. In fact, I've actually taken off by simply holding the model's tail and pointing it straight up and hitting the gas. It goes straight up out of your hand with no problems.
Now the bad. First, it's way too expensive for this size of airplane (think slightly bigger than a park flyer). $400 for a piece of styrofoam, no matter how great it is, is too much. I still have a twinge of buyer's remorse every time I think about it, even though it is a fantastic piece. My wife had a heart attack when she saw the receipt. I realize that retail for the battery and receiver are almost half of the pricetag, but still. It shouldn't be that painful to hand over your credit card IMO. And the wire gear isn't up to the task. It's too flimsy and bends if you don't make a perfect landing in grass.
That being said, this is a fantastic airplane. Easily the best airplane in my stable. I love it, and tell everyone that if they want the perfect 3D "park flyer sized" airplane, this is it. It flies true, balance is never an issue, rolls like a tornado, and is tremendously agile. I love it. You can't go wrong with this one.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alucard0822
Location: PA
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
WOW!!!!!
 PostedDecember 31, 2010
Just got back from the maiden flight, and WOW this does it all. This plane is without equal, for the cost, the minimal assembly, the durability and repairablility of Z-foam, the power, and the flight charachteristics. With low rates it is gentle enough for those progressing from sport 4 channel planes like the PKZ Extra300 or even the warbirds to manage it, but turn the rates up and it will do any 3D move an expert can throw at it. The airframe is well built and extremely rigid, flies just as good as my 51" 3DHS slick, and it can pull slow technical manuvers like waterfalls, torque rolls and harriers with minimal coupling, and plenty of control authority. Speed up and it breezes through sport aerobatics like point rolls, inverted flight, snap rolls and loops. With moderate rates the huge rudder can lock in knife edge flight, higher rates allow knife edge loops and perfect 0 radius hammerheads. Hovers take a little bit to lock in, but once you get the right stick position, it takes little input to keep a good hover going, and they are stable enough that you can let it torque around, then stop and even reverse the rotation. Inverted flight is immaculate, and inverted harriers have 0 wing rock, upright harriers have just a touch. The plane can float down, and feels much lighter than it is, but when you lock in a spin, the weight keeps the spin stable and very easy to control, flattening into a flat spin, or rolling into a knife edge spin are textbook simple. The plane is very fast, and is capable of about 80MPH flat out, there is tons of power, pull out from hovers are excellent. There are few planes capable of precise throttle management for hovering, yet can fly as fast as this one does, you might be able to swap props around a bit to get a bit more top end, or low end as it suits you.
There are settings available on the E-flite website and under the support tab here, they are called "advanced" settings, but are more so specialized settings for certain flying styles, and can make the plane easier to fly in many instances. I am flying with slightly different rates that work for me, once you get the hang of the plane, you may want to tune the rates a bit to suit your style. I bought a DX8 with the plane in order to get a few more mixes and rate settings than my DX6i had, and the radio is a great match to the plane. Having 3 rates to use really helps a lot. You do need to adjust the travel a little bit to get the throws in the manual, but it serves as a good base for maximum throws that are more than sufficient for post stall flight. The throws are large, so you really want to measure everything exactly, make sure all servos are centered perfectly so you don't end up with uneven throws or assymetric ailerons. The AR600 reciever does allow dual aileron mixes so you can adjust each aileron individually. The more attention you pay to getting everything set just right, the better the plane will fly.
My low rates are A;30%dr 30%ex E: 22%dr 25%ex R: 50%dr 25%ex
Mid rates are A: 50%dr 40%ex E: 30%dr 30%ex R: 80%dr 35%ex
high rates A: 100%dr 60%ex E: 100%dr 50%ex R: 100%dr 50%ex
The low rates are gentle, enough elevator and rudder for takeoffs and landings, perfect for slow and point rolls, and most simple sport aerobatics, and just enugh rudder for sustained knife edge flight. The mid rates are a bit more agressive, good for some spins, just enough to hover, knife edge climbs, and harriers, but still gentle enough for fast flight. The high rates are for slow flight only, the throws are massive, and good for elevators, waterfalls, torque rolls, and the like, if you speed up, reduce the rates as they are VERY touchy at higher speeds, and would put a ton of stress on the hinges.
As far as the structure of the plane, these hinges are the best on any foamie, they have minimal friction, and allow previously impossible throws, the reinforcements embedded in the surfaces and large wing and tail spars isolate the control surface movements from the light surface very well, they are very rigid, and the bolts that hold them in place are plenty large. The wheels are about 3" in diameter, and are large enough to takeoff and land in grass, coupled with high rates and up elevatr taxiing is efortless, and the tail wheel stays planted, the plane has no tendency to noseover, and the ger is wide and raked forward enough that ground handling is not a problem. The power system is phenominal, and more than anyone could want, the 60A speed control, battery and motor all match the plane well, and need no upgrades. The servos are all metal gear digital and are up to the task of large throws and quick response. This is my 3rd AR600, and it has become my favorite reciever for most planes, the range is more than adequate as far as the eye can see, one in an EDF jet I tested still had full control and signal 2 miles away line of sight, it is a simple inexpensive reciever that allows the all important dual aileron mix, and can handle planes with flaps and gear. The plane looks impressive, and the color scheme is both attractive, and easy to keep orientation with, the size too, at 4' long with a 4' wingspan it is about the largest plane a person can fit in a midsized car, it is far larger than the PKZ warbirds, and is stunning in the air. I have a number of Z-foam planes, and repairs are simple, use most any glue, and you can turn a pile of foam back into a plane, the availability of parts and hobby shop support also make this a very easy plane to fix if you crash it, even still it can escape significant damage in crashes that would turn a balsa plane into splinters. The cost is appropriate for what you get, especially the BNF version, add up the cost of the servos, reciever, motor, ESC, and battery, and you basically get the airframe and charge for free. A similarly equipped ARF balsa plane would cost $600-$800 at least.
While the plane has worked out, and I am extremely happy with it, there were a couple problems. The spar would not fit in the left wing pannel out of the box, it went about 1/2 way down, then jammed, fit the right side just fine. I tried everything to get it in, tapping with a rubber mallet, using soap as a lubricant, ende up with it jammed 2" short of fully seated when the tube it slides in split. I called horizon, and as always their customer service was excellent and prompt, I had a replacement spar and wing pannel 2 days later, the tech said they have had some problems with them, and the spar that arrived was smaller and finished smoother than the spar included with my BNF, it slid right in both wings, and flew wonderfully. The wings are very tight in their pockets, and it is all to easy to put the screws in, and miss the wing tabs entirely, you need to look through the holes, and line them up, when they "feel" seated, the wings are probably 1/4" from seated, just pay attention and it won't cause a major issue. The prop also produced a bad vibration above 1/2 throttle out of the box, The blades were equal in weight, and it was concentric, but it took a bit of weight on the hub to balance out, it runs smoother now, but point being you definitely want to balance the prop, as you do on any plane.
This plane has everything, power, control, stability and speed, all in a very user friendly package, it is IMO Horizons finest foam plane yet, and am excited to see what the next gem Quique and Horizon can produce, they hit it out of the park with this one.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
7 out of 7 recommend this product
Quality 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Fun 
4.9 / 5
4.9 / 5
Value 
4.6 / 5
4.6 / 5
<<prev 1 2 3