Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

E-flite DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF

Platinum Series scale, civilian 25-size ARF model. The sport utility vehicle of aircraft.
Average Customer Rating:
4.63 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
24 out of 27(89%)customers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Review 1 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flyboynv
Location: Las Vegas
I would recommend this to a friend!
E-flight Beaver 25-e
 PostedJuly 18, 2014
This is a high quality product that goes together very well and flies great. The model is good looking and exciting to fly. As a matter of fact,I have two!
Review 2 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun2Float
Location: Bellevue, WA
I would recommend this to a friend!
Beaver on Floats
 PostedDecember 18, 2013
This is probably one of the easiest and most docile plane I have ever flown on floats. It takes off and lands like a dream. Due to the extra weight and drag created by the 25 size floats, I opted for the power 32 set up. The flaps slow the plane down beautifully and touch and gos are a blast! The plane is so well constructed and the attention to details make this platinum edition a delight to build. You will be very happy with this plane. BTW, do click on the "Related Articles" tab and watch John Redman's helpful hints on installing the tail feather.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheBakedBeans
Location: Chicago, IL
I would recommend this to a friend!
One of my FAVORITES!
 PostedAugust 14, 2013
Easy to build and fun to fly!! This is an older model so keep that in mind when wondering why it has a single wing instead of a two piece. This is perfect for Pilots looking into their first balsa EP.
You can do a lot of customization if you want. I added navigation lights and instrument panel lights along with some extra detail to the interior. I only wish the floats were more scale.
My wish is someday Horizon will re-release this model with more scale details. PLEASE!!!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Eflite DH82 Beaver by TheBakedBeans
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
TheBakedBeans
 
Please wait while more information about TheBakedBeans is loaded.
Additional information about TheBakedBeans could not be loaded.
Posted October 26, 2013
I custom made my lights, but the Horizon Hobby light kit that is recommended for the Super Cub will work just as well.
I bought electroluminescent paneling off of ebay for the dash lights and used LED's from RC-Lights (I believe Horizon now sells these) for the rest. 5mm for landing lights, 3mm solids and strobes for the nav lights.
Customer Avatar
10Bears
 
Please wait while more information about 10Bears is loaded.
Additional information about 10Bears could not be loaded.
Posted October 24, 2013
Hi I bought this plane and was wondering where you got the navigation lights? This plane is cool once you get the hang of building it.
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
YnotMe2
Location: USA
I would recommend this to a friend!
10 to 15 knot winds
 PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Plane handled great in the wind take offs were easy with long smooth rolls up and short take off as well. Very little trim needed, up elevator couple of clicks, used factory numbers in book. Landing with flaps need to program some down elevator with flaps, nice landings on grass field.
Did not like the cowl set up with the four screws, so I converted it using magnets, counter sunk wood in cowl and fire wall (knock out blind nuts) and glued, works great. Did not like the rear wheel set up ...hex head screws strip easily
Had to make rescued servo trays the E/RC 9 gram are to small for openings.left the dummy air intakes off for now.
Nice color scheme and well done. Using 32 Out runner, going for the floats. Got a lot of complements at the fly field. Had 3/4" spacers made, prop was to close to cowl now just its right. CG went well used first set of numbers
Dressed out cock pit with pilots, used canopy glue for windows,
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bushpilot4life
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great Purchase
 PostedOctober 22, 2012
The beaver was my first balsa plane and it remains the most reliable in my hanger today. I put 4 inch tires on it and I can use just about any surface as a runway. Bush flying never gets old. Great plane!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
P47Thunderbolt
I would recommend this to a friend!
Most detailed DHC-2 Beaver on the market!
 PostedSeptember 7, 2012
I've always loved the DHC-2 Beaver float plane, and this one by eflite has the most detail I've ever seen. From the corrugated flight surfaces, to the detailed cock pit. And at my airfield, spectators always compliment me on how well it flies, either fast or slow with the flaps down. When I purchased this plane, my intentions were to put it on floats, but there wasn't the opportunity to fly off of water so I just flew it from wheels. I then bought the floats and realized that it was quite involved to go from landing gear to floats, and back again. I simply solved that problem by buying another beaver for floats. I'll switch my land base beaver to snow skies or wheels depending on the season. I've logged over 120 flights with my land based beaver, but I still haven't had the opportunity to fly the float version from water yet, just a dozen or so flights with landing gear just to get it trimmed out, but I have taken it to smaller ponds to check it's ability to track straight and get up on step. It looks great on the water, and the day will come when I can fly from it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KevinKFlyer
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 45-54
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
Beaver 25e - Float Plane
 PostedMay 20, 2012
The Beaver is an awesome plane!.
The details are outstanding and the construction is superb. I equiped the Beaver with the 32 size motor, 60 amp ESC and 3300 mah battery and optional floats and found the plane to have plenty of power and is very responsive on the controls. Easy plane to fly and with the large flaps takeoffs and landings are a piece of cake.
The only difficulties I had in the construcion phase was with the installation of the cowl. The aluminium motor spacers included with the kit were not quite long enough to allow the propeller not to hit the front of the cowling and I had to glue some washers to the back of the spacers. The fake radial engine does pose a little bit of a challenge in installing the cowl but thats part of the price when you want something to look authentic.
Also, I was not able to make the control cable - supplied with the floats - to operate the rudder correctly without binding or kinking and found it to be very sloppy, so I installed a compartment in the pontoon to house a servo and made a cover and screwed iit down and sealed it with silicone so no water could get in. I ran the servo wires out thru a rubber gromet that I zip tied to make sure no water got in there. The plane handles very well on the water. Back pressure on the elevator is required during the initial rollout to keep the propeller out of the water until the pontoons get up on plane.
All in All the Beaver is a Great plane and I highly recommend it!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rcsuperfreak
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 25-34
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
 PostedJanuary 3, 2012
First impression out the box was quite pleasing, the color covering is very vivid and very minimal bubbling, little to no ironing needed. This is a very good product everything was very neatly packaged and the manual was very easy to read and understand along with the detailed pictures. The overall price is about 20-30 dollars to high but if you have a coupon or some sort of discount then well worth the deal. The recommended power set up for the basic power plant seemed a bit underpowered to me, I went ahead with a power 32 with a 4s lipo along with the 13X6.5 porp. Producing 735 watts and 49 amps at full throttle, more than plenty to lift this big wingspan of a bird. This set up is actually a little overpowering but she lifts off smooth and beautifully with flaps. I get a solid 9 minutes of flight with a 3300mah 4s lipos with manageable throttle positions. Even at 50% throttle passes the sound of this motor and prop combination is very impressive and smooth flying. My only down fall for using a bigger and heavier motor and battery is the landing have to be done with full flaps and very slowing decreasing airspeed to allow it to descend without danger and to watch out for quite a bit of momentum still pushing the bird forward even once the power is completely cut off and landed and to give it some up elevator to shortly after the main gear touches to gain steer-ability and stop safely. I will be making the change to try out power 25 and 3s lipo recommendation in the manual for difference in flying and landings. In the end though this amazing high winged bird is a beautiful sight to look at in the sky and the landings are very achievable in a scale like manner. As for aerobatics maneuvers on high rate for aileron is rolls very quickly but careful on turns as it tends to climb up at first and drops off sharply if no throttle is increases briefly. Loops are achievable but would not suggest it as though it is a high winged bird and this bird seems sturdy it requires about 70% throttle and a pretty high altitude to achieve a very smooth, big and nice loop. Inverted flight is also very simple to accomplish but of course does not look right for this bird. I would not recommend to a beginner but as a 3rd or more likely 4th plane would be reasonable as it still is a tail drag-er and smooth and cautious take offs needs to be payed attention to as well as on the landings.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kkbbeach
Location: Pavilion, New York
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a year
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 65 or over
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
great flying Beaver
 PostedOctober 22, 2011
Had one of the first Beavers that the shelves. Great flying airplane. With the E-Flight 32 is over powered. The only problem is that it hit a landing light on landing with the landing gear and ripped the bottom off. Replaced the fuselage and reinforced the landing gear area with epoxy. Last week as I was getting to get ready to take off the wind tipped it on its`nose and just shattered the firewall and ripped off the cowling and air scoops. Ordered the cowling but did not come with new scoops and are not listed in the replacement parts.(bummer) I have not figured out the best way to repair the firewall as is shattered in many places.Maybe just bite the bullet and replace the fuselage again and reinforce the firewall with thinned out epoxy.(Or maybe just buy another as I have really enjoyed this airplane) I really like electric airplane but they are built lightly and do not stand much punishment. They need to be reinforced around the landing gear mount and the firewall.
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sherman89
Location: Ocala Florida
Hobbyist Type: Competitive
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
good flying plane
 PostedOctober 6, 2011
I had a chance to maiden the Beaver this morning in some nasty winds and all went well. I have the P-25 turning a APC13X6 through a eflite 60 a ESC on a 4S-2800 li-po pak. The available power was much more than needed and the plane was flown mostly at 1/2 t or less. With the nasty winds a fair assessment was not going to happen so we will give it a go when the winds settle down, but the plane did handle the adverse conditions and attribute to the beaver.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
F82FAN
Location: SOUTH TEXAS
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a year
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 46-55
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
EFLITE BEAVER - FUN FLOAT FLYER!
 PostedJune 22, 2011
I bought my Beaver over a year ago and have absolutely enjoyed the heck out of it!
Mine is on the optional FLOATS and is an complete ball to fly.
It is SO easy to fly that I have been able to introduce many of my friends to float flying through the friendly characteristics of this beauty.
I'm on a spektrom 7CH receiver, with all of the stock recommended servos and the POWER 32 motor with Eflite 60-Amp ESC and a 4-cell 3200 Battery.
In fact, the size of the battery compartment is the only downside to this baby. It is just too small to put in a BIG (5200mAh) battery that would increase my "fun-factor" time!!!
I'm now on the waiting list at my LHS for the Super Cub 25E as I'm certain that it will be a perfect companion to this Beaver
User submitted photo
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
clearprop
Location: central florida
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a year
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 11-20 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
 PostedAugust 11, 2010
Thisis my first electric. I enjoyed the construction. I used other than specified electronics. I had to use additional bushings on motor so it would clear cowling. Could not use simulated engine cylinders as cowel mounting screws were not accessable when it was in place. Plane flew true to scale on first flight. It trimmed out great!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HandEyeonRCGroups
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
DHC-2 Beaver 25e; Fun on and off the water
 PostedAugust 9, 2010
I wanted a high wing stable plane that was fun to fly and yet still a challenge. First, the build was perfect. This plane went together so well! Everything is done just right and you dont have to fabricate a single thing. I used the power 32 setup as I wanted to use floats. So much power on a 4s setup you wont believe it. Can I say unlimited verticle?!?! The great thing is I also use my 2200mah 3s (2 of them)batteries that I fly in my T-28 Trojan. I run them in parallel, a simple ec3 rig you can buy online. They have plenty of power, I would imagine around what the power 25 feels like. This is great as I have about 8 2200mah 3s batteries and 2 3300mah 4s batteries. You get an easy 7-8 min with only mild throttle management. I only have one complaint. If you look at most DHC-2 Beavers on floats (working planes) you will see that they have verticle stabilizers on the outer edges of the elevator. These are to make the plane track better during takeoff and landing and man it could use these. You will use right rudder and plenty of it during takeoff! I gave it 4 out of 5 stars on fun for this reason.
What I changed; Custom cockpit...so easy a caveman could do it. Also, put on 2 3/4 inch tundra tires for that bush plane look.
Happy landings!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Charley
Location: Orrick, MO
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
first flight/new record
 PostedAugust 2, 2010
Finished the plane.Dont consider myself up to first flights as yet so have an experieced (many years) RC pilot fly it. His comments - great flying plane. First plane I've flown for the first time that no adjustments were necessary" Put the 32 motor in it for th aded power if needed. Flying from airfield (actual) but we keep grass short in our area. Also hae Hanger 9 j-3 electric, anothergreat plane.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SteveJ
Location: APO AE (Germany)
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
DHC-2 Beaver
 PostedJune 20, 2010
The Beaver is a good looking airplane with good flight characteristics. The initial takeoff was a little rough but with the larger engine was in the air guickly and very controllable. This is not an airplane for the beginner but for an intermediate flyer is an excellent choice.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waterrat8
Location: Batavia, Illinois
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
E-Flite Beaver
 PostedJune 4, 2010
Plane went together nicely. The only criticisim is that the speed control will not go on the front of the battery box as suggested in the instructions when you put the radial engine on the cowl there is insufficient clearance. I had to use the largest spacers as well to get the e-flite 25 to protrude past the front of the cowl and clear the prop.
Plane flies very well with the 25 and a 12x6 prop with the 3S battery. It is off the runway in under 50 feet. Sooner or later I'll try it off the water. It needs about a 1/4 inch more aileron on the low rate than called for in the instructions but the cg and other throws are right on. Rudder is very effective. This is my second e-flight plane and I love it.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hhmote
Location: clarkesville georgia
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 46-55
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
beaver 25e money well spent
 PostedMay 22, 2010
this is a very nice arf kit. put a 4550 out runner 80 amp esc 6 jr mn48 sevro;s 4000mah 3s lipo and a 4s 2650 lipo will work . easy to fly and land, look's like the real thing. you can't go wrong with the e-flight beaver. i also like that the thrust angel is built in so you don;t have to try to get that right it is done for you.this is a big plane easy to see while in flight i am very happy with this model.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trapper
Location: San Diego
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 15-29
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Fantastic looking so far..
 PostedApril 15, 2010
Got the plane very quickly, and free shipping (high five Horizon Hobby)!! Anyways went togather pretty smoothly, i got all the electrics from Hobby King got 6 metal gear servos a 55-50- KV Turnigy motor and 60 amp ESC 2 4000MAH 4S 20 C batterys for under 150 shipped. Haven't flown it yet but was in the parking lot and tiped it over, this thing is very very fragile!! Broke 2 spares off the mounting for the cowl and the very top of the tail snapped off. Was only going about 5 or 6 MPH at the most. Other than that the guys at the field are drooling to see it go!
Review 19 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
heli
Location: CO
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: Under 15
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
bever
 PostedApril 12, 2010
looks very scale fun to flight like the float set a lot the bever flights ok with floats on and 25 power moter
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DHC-2 Beaver 25e ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JLogan
Location: Taylor, Michigan
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 46-55
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
Outstanding Scale flyer
 PostedMarch 31, 2010
One of the best Platinum scale series, a real joy to fly.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>