Product Reviews

BLADE Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli

The Ideal “Next Step” for Heli Pilots Wanting a Single-Rotor Collective Pitch Heli
Average Customer Rating:
3.323 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(158 Reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 158 reviews
5 stars
47
4 stars
42
3 stars
18
2 stars
17
1 star
34
102 out of 158(65%)customers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Review 21 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
lowwing
Location: Montreal, WI.
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: Other
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Junk
 PostedNovember 6, 2011
Very unstable, poor quality parts such as swash plate comes apart, losts of slop in head, the transmitter it comes with is very limited use a dx6i, but the worst design is the tail motor. Don't waste your money on this one.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
drchris
Location: US
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Daily
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 25-34
Length of time in hobby: 11-20 years
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Please read this first--DO NOT BUY THIS HELI
 PostedOctober 6, 2011
I've been flying R/C aircraft for over 15 years, starting first with nitro and moving on to electric as the technology improved. I was looking for a good intro CP electric heli and settled on this one, but wished I had read the reviews first. This was the worst R/C purchase I have ever made--please review through at least some of these reviews and avoid throwing away $200 on a worthless heli.
Pros:
- Looks nice out of the box
- "RTF"--mostly
- Decent power from the battery + motor combo
Cons:
- Terrible non-computerized radio--this tx can only be used with this heli and has some pretty poor hard-programmed settings that can only minimally be changed
- Direct drive tail rotor! Motor burns out quickly, reacts poorly to changes in rotor speed
- Poor hover characteristics--with the default setup, the heli quickly entered into an accelerating counterclockwise spiral every time it was in hover. I could not get this adjusted out and it ultimately lead to an uncontrollable crash from the spiral
- Wooden blades, aluminum tail boom, and plastic rotor head parts = no durability at all
Bottom line: If you buy this heli, you are throwing away $200 on a poor-flying heli and worthless throw-away radio.
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
chipthesailor
Location: philadelphia
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 25-34
Length of time in hobby: 11-20 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
not bad but needs improvement
 PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Downside first. Battery was no good right out of the box, but horizon ship a replacement right away. First tail motor burned up in about 10 minutes of use but replacement has about 3 hrs on it.
As my first cp heli I think this was a very easy platform to learn on and crash parts usually arrive in about 3 days and are economical and easy to install. I would strongly recommend the training gear become standard. I believe the tail boom should be strengthend as I seem to break these too often and easily, same situation for the blade grips.
Overall I would say this is a good starter heli and with a few improvements could be great. And overall I am happy with the product and will probably upgrade to a blade 450 soon.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
electricparkflyyrr
Location: ohio
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 18-24
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
WORST E-FLITE PRODUCT IVE EVER OWNED
 PostedSeptember 3, 2011
CAME OUT OF BOX WITH BAD BATTERY AND BAD TAIL MOTOR, HORIZON IS GREAT ABOUT SENDING NEW PARTS, BUT 2 DAYS AFTER INSTALLING THE NEW MOTOR IT BURNED OUT AGAIN. THIS THING FLYS LIKE junk, NOT SUITABLE FOR ANYTHING OTHER THAN HOVERING. I HAVE REPLACED ALMOST EVERY PART ON THIS HELI MULTIPLE TIMES, SAVE YOUR MONEY AND BUY A 400 OR 450 its worth the extra money.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
busa13
Location: florence ky
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Daily
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 25-34
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
blade no trade bc thats what im doing with this
 PostedAugust 31, 2011
i just got me a sr today but cant do anything with it bc the battery is junk and it will take 3-5 weeks to get one in to me.. so 75.00 later after going back to the hobby shop to get a battery and charger i started to fly /huver and the out of box is b/s i had to change all the controlles it just wants to do what it wants and thats that . good price for a papper waight bc thats what it is ....... it huverd for about 20 sec. then just took out to backward for no reason at all and brock the wing and the pitch and the tail boom now it about 3-5 weeks for a tail boom harrizion hobby r the best at helping but now i just want my money back this is not fun i will never buy another sr every going to try the 450
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snappy
Location: Northern Minnesota
Hobbyist Type: Beginner
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 45-54
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
An underrated heli?
 PostedAugust 25, 2011
I own 3 blade SR's. They are my first entries into the collective pitch category. This helicopter gets trashed by some reviewers and some experts because of the separate tail motor. Tail motors do have problems and this heli is no exception, but there are solutions available elsewhere on the web that greatly ameliorate the problems caused by the tail rotor. One of them is to get a new tail rotor from MIA. This new rotor is longer and pushes more air per RPM, so the tail motor doesn't have to work so hard. When this and other mods are done (and they're all pretty easy if I can do them) then the tail holds much better and the motor doesn't burn out as often (almost never). Then the heli becomes a different animal altogether.
I don't know what I'd do without my SR's. They are a great transition to collective pitch. They are very reasonably priced and easy to fix (relative to other collective pitch helis). I suspect that when I move up to flying a blade 450, I'll still fly my SR's because they're really fun, and I read that when you replace the head with higher quality aluminum parts (leave the flybar cage plastic, by the way, so it can break in a crash) the heli really performs (ie 3D and such). Anyway, I'm a pretty critical person in a lot of ways and I think that this heli doesn't deserve the bad press it's gotten. I really like the SR.
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pakelikaFROMmesaAZ
 
Please wait while more information about pakelikaFROMmesaAZ is loaded.
Additional information about pakelikaFROMmesaAZ could not be loaded.
Posted May 13, 2013
I agree the sr is a great beginner I put a belt drive tail on mine and its awesome. Just had to agree with ya because I think its really funny how people can't fly the sr but want a 450 3d haha whatever I guess the sr is nice and tuned in with a dx6i or better its wonderful for the price! Happy flying bud.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 27 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GoBucks29
Location: Fremont, IN
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 25-34
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Very Fun Intro to CP Helicopters
 PostedAugust 24, 2011
I have been in the hobby for about a year now, and have flown both fixed and collective pitch helis. I have a 450 size and the Blade Sr as my CP helis and i have to say I love them both. Probably one of the biggest reasons I would recommend this heli is that it is easy to fix and maintain which can really turn newcomers off to the hobby. As far as flying goes it is pretty stable out of the box with the bundled TX. On the complaint front however I did have the dreaded defective battery issue that some people have had, but my good friends at horizon hobby were kind enough to replace it. As other people have stated the tail is somewhat unstable out of the box too, but that is kind of the nature of the beast when it comes to direct drive tail motors. This problem can be fixed dramatically by fairly simple and inexpensive modifications to the heli and TX. I have had my blade for about three months now and have modified it and tweaked it to the point where it files as good as my belt driven 450 heli, and to be honest is more fun to fly than the 450. On that note I would recommend this heli to CP newcomers and I will bet you wont be disappointed
User submitted photo
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JimBob
Location: OKC, OK
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Cars/Trucks/Buggies
Age: 15-29
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
A terrible design
 PostedAugust 13, 2011
I've gone through 4 of these trying to get a good one. The tail motors burn out really fast, which results is a destructive crash. The tail motor simply isn't strong enough to hold the tail. There's a belt drive mod out there, but I've never tried it. Half the time the battery that comes with is completely discharged. So then you have to wait to get a new one sent to you. You'd be better off just buying a 450 3D. This thing is a terrible excuse for a heli.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ElectedJosh
Location: Coaldale, AB
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Daily
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 15-29
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Instant disastor!!!!!!!!!!
 PostedAugust 8, 2011
Okay first off, I am very careful with these helis, I have owned a 120 sr for 1 year and flown it 5 times a week. When i opened this helicopter box up i first tried to charge the battry, all it showed was "charging error" and then i bought a new battery. It worked fine but when I brought my heli to a gym.....................................
FIRST: barely responded to controls and rolled to an instant crash and the rotors snapped the centre wing craked the tail rotor broke and tha the tail boom bent. PLEASE do not purchase this heli, it seems like its a great heli to exceed your skills on, but no... not at all.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nufkts
Location: Asheville NC
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Blade SR
 PostedJuly 29, 2011
This is a bit of a tough bird to fly. Blade are very weak. If they hit anything including the grass the covering will come off. I would recommend upgrading to the carbon fiber blades. Definitely not a first step into collective pitch as advertised.
Review 31 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
race25
Location: Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Blade SR
 PostedJuly 15, 2011
This is a really nice heli to step up to collective pitch helis. Still not as easy as you might think, but with a little practice and time and a few repair parts, a great heli for the money. training gear is a big help at first.
Review 32 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Anonymous
Location: Portland OR
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Don't bother
 PostedJune 26, 2011
The rotor head design is set up out of the box to eventually damage the blades because of boom strikes. Instead of going with a 10 cent dampener they went with a 07 cent one and when you get a boom strike it will bend you feather shaft and probably your rotor grips and mixer arms.
The direct drive tail is a shame. OUT OF THE BOX you have a tail that can't hold a heading and attempts to fix it will likely lead to an incident requiring you to rebuild the helicoper.
WARNING: Although the helicopter is labeled RTF I have spent countless hours and hundreds of dollars replacing defective parts. DONT waste you money on Blade products because they have cut every corner with construction and although you may save 50 dollars up front you will loose hundreds trying to cobble together this helicopter so that you can actually fly it for about an hour before that tail motor, main motor, or 2-in-1 fail.
Horizon Hobby and Blade have quite the racket going.! Save you're money and buy a quality product!.
The 2-in-1 burnt out on my after the tail moter burnt out...I have HOVERED this helicopter for all of 30 minutes and spent almost 1000.00 replacing damaged parts! Only 40-50 dollars has been to actual damage sustained by me. Like I said I HOVER with training gear!
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bj1944
Location: Salt Lake City, Ut.
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
A fun little machine to have fun with
 PostedJune 13, 2011
I like this chopper it takes alittle to get used to , glad I got the training wheels to go with it
Review 34 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cactus34
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Hobbyist Type: Beginner
Frequency of Use: Daily
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Very nice chopper but not quite for beginners
 PostedJune 5, 2011
I purchased this chopper about 3 weeks ago. My only prior experience with RC helicopters was with a small IR heli. I have a decent sized living room in the apartment I'm renting while stationed down in Mississippi. I've been trying to practice hovering but it's been quite a challenge with the smaller space. I've crashed it into the walls several times and it's done extremely well, durability wise, but I think I bit off a little more than I could chew. Last week I snapped the Rotor Hub, so when I purchased a new one, I ended up buying the Blade mSR. After talking with a friend who's into the sport, I figured it'd be best to start on something a bit smaller. I'm very happy with my decision. Although I do like the challenge of the SR, the mSR is much better for folks such as myself who are just getting into the sport.
I would definitely recommend the Blade SR to someone who's at an intermediate skillset who's trying to make the jump either from coaxial or the micro. It really is fun but sometimes frustrating for a beginner.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ferny
Location: san deigo,ca
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Daily
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Good Learner
 PostedMay 27, 2011
Okay with fine tuning the mixer the gyro and adding extra tape in between the gyro and the body
it fly's okay the 90 % of the rear tail wag went away....Finally I'm having fun !!!!!
Review 36 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solarpwrd
Location: Ontario, Canada
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Daily
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 46-55
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Has Potential as a Beginner CP Heli But.....
 PostedApril 26, 2011
I got this heli last week as a gift. My first CP heli, I was so excited at first, especially since Blade
recommends this as a good next stepup from coaxial and single rotor FP. I struggled with it on the
first flight with the stock TX but did manage to hover through the first battery. On my second
attempt I crashed on a tip over on the ground as the stock landing gear has a very small foot
print and the horrible shakie tail motor made it an easy tip over on landing. So, money to repair
as Blade and other manuf count on. Just a slight tip over with the motor powered off and a
blade dug in the ground and snapped the blade grips, flybar links, swash holder, blades and
of course the tail boom bent. I've since repaired the heli and have now linked it to my spectrum
DX6i with much different settings than the stock TX and now it flies smooth except for the
annoying electric tail motor still causes a slight wag as it can't keep up with the main blades
reactive torque. If it only had a shaft/belt driven tail it would be awesome, especially if HHobby
would recommend better settings for a DX series TX for RC'ers who are very new to CP heli's.
Anyway, overall I like the heli and I have ordered a direct drive tail kit to solve the tail motor
issue and will replace the basic gyro that is included to a better quality one. To sum up, your
better off with a bigger CP to start with eg. a 450 size. The bigger size is slightly more stable
and has better parts and tail setup right from the start. By the time I get this heli to fly really well
with the few upgrades I could have got a 450 size. But can't kick a gift horse in the mouth as
they say, it was a present after all. No choice but to make it a better flyier as I can't sell it, my
girlfriend would kill me.
If you do dare to start out with this heli just be warned....price is lower than a Align Trex 250
for a reason. The quality of this one is moderate at best and really is just a slightly changed
and renamed CP, CP+ CP Pro 2. If you like the size of this heli just buy a Trex250. One other
thing, the head 'O' rings are poor quality and the spacers dig into them and shred them so
keep an eye on them, this is to soften it a bit, but it doesn't help. I added another step washer
each side with the step side facing the O-ring and it has helped alot. The head was way too
mushy stock and this just tightens it up enough to make it more responsive so you don't feel
like your chasing the heli with the TX. If at some point you guys at HH replace this heli with
something of the same size at least do something about the tail....the rest of the fixups are
optional. I would pay alittle more for a better quality tail setup, that is if I actually had paid for
this heli :-)
All the best to heli RC'ers and good luck if you buy this one.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wank
Location: Greensboro, NC
Hobbyist Type: Beginner
Frequency of Use: Daily
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 15-29
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
great for learning
 PostedApril 19, 2011
My only heli prior to this was an ultra micro co-axial (firebird from helizonerc). I wanted something bigger and more capable, first flight only lasted 3 seconds but it was a valuable lesson to take it slow and start with just a simple (while on the ground) hover. I've heard a lot of hype about how this isn't a good first timer cp heli but the parts are readily available at all local hobby shops and they're cheap to buy, it's easy to fix this heli if it breaks and it flies well enough that once you learn you'll rarely ever crash. The direct drive tail is a downside as it fails after about 30 hours of total flight and may cause a serious crash but there are belt conversion kits available, only real complaint I have is the controller not being able to trim the heli precicely. All in all though, for only $200 this is a great cp heli that has good size and looks nice. On a side note, I've flown through 20 mph gusts of wind and the heli barely budges as it is very strong.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rsp95
Location: Topsham, ME
Hobbyist Type: Beginner
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 46-55
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Looks Nice but beginner Heli, Not so much.
 PostedApril 10, 2011
If you are thinking about purchasing this heli as an intro to CP heli's, I would say look elsewhere. This heli is really for advanced pilots. The tail wag, weird twitches, the difficulty to trim this heli makes it a nightmare if you're a beginner. I have lived through it and spent a lot of money rebuilding. On a positive note, if you can learn to fly this baby then you'll be ahead of the game. I would suggest purchasing a flight sim which helped me out a lot. If I could do it all again, I would have purchased the Blade 400 instead. If you still want to purchase this item be sure to get plenty of spare blades, tail booms, tail motor wire set, feathering shafts, main shaft, and blade grips.
Review 39 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nintendodoterk
Location: The Netherlands
Hobbyist Type: Beginner
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
convert to belt
 PostedApril 3, 2011
i've flown a solo pro for a while, had some sim practise and then bought this heli.
at first i crashed it a lot, dispite what they say it won't fly itself!
the tail motor is horrible, it wags and playing with gyro gain and proportional doesn't work at all.
i've had two crashes due to a broken tail motor.
conclusion, convert this heli to a belt driven tail rotor, learn on a sim and this is a great heli.
the belt conversion makes this heli much more stable and easier to learn on
with a black tail boom, a red canopy and belt drive mod it flies a lot better and is better visible.
i mean, the sky is blue and so is this heli.
google for the belt drive kit and you've got yourself a great heli with cheap replacement parts available.
ps sorry if my english isn't perfect, i''m dutch :P
User submitted photo
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Location: Cumming GA
Hobbyist Type: Beginner
Frequency of Use: Daily
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pretty fun little heli
 PostedMarch 28, 2011
I'm pretty new to the hobby and am still learning, but i'm having fun with this thing. I've read several reviews saying that this heli is a waste of money. Well yeah, if you keep crashing it, it's going to cost you. Just like anything else. I have no hours on any simulator, just a few months with the MSR and it only took me a few weeks to get off the ground and I feel pretty comfortable flying this now. The tail is kinda twitchy, but other than that no real complaints. If you want something to learn CP on, i would suggest the MCP X though. It flies great and it's pretty inexpensive to replace the parts.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>