Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Hangar 9 Pulse XT 60 ARF

Pulse XT 60 ARF
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
26 out of 30(87%)customers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Review 1 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
disa
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Poor quilty control
 PostedAugust 9, 2014
Main gear were ben causing the wheels to point at about a 35 degree angle out from the fuselage causing me to bend them enough to crinkle the paint. Also the wing dowl rod guide pin on the leading edge of the wing were drilled improperly causing me to redrill them.
Review 2 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
DavidR
Location: Denver
I would recommend this to a friend!
Invert
 PostedNovember 1, 2013
I have owned all of the Pulse line in nitro. All have had issues with the tail feathers. Reinforcement recommended! Otherwise great flying planes. This one I inverted the motor and used an OS 95v with a 14x8 prop. Wonderful flyer, no bad habits. Wish there were more color options in all model sizes because so many at our field!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
turbine
Location: Washington state
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great plane
 PostedSeptember 12, 2013
this morning was my maiden flight after putting it together a year or so ago and it hanging in the garage !!!!! but it flew excellent with a east wind on around 10 mph!!!! saito 100 bk on it and off it went without a hickup......didnt need trim of any kind !!!!! I read that this plane is an excellent second plane coming from trainer.....well im here to tell you that IT IS ABSOLUTELY TRUE.....could not ask for a better plan!!! it had no bad habits and will just glide beautifully high up and on landings!!!!! i may just buy another one!!!! Love this thing
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
SGTJRS11
Location: Kent, NY
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
What Happened To Hangar 9 ?
 PostedJanuary 20, 2013
I bought this plane late November as a Christmas present my daughter wanted to give me. Being a loyal Horizon customer and having 3 other Hangar 9 planes I could not wait to build this one. Well, when I opened the box was I surprised . The body had several deep pock marks in the covering and the cowl blind nuts had all fallen off. I called customer support and made a complaint. I decided I would try to iron out the marks and glue the nuts in. As I started to build I found the tail section did not line up and need work to fit. The canopy is very thin plastic and was cracked. The yellow on the cowl and canopy are closer to orange and don't match covering. Not enough glue on joints, servos did not fit in the tray had to be sanded a bit to fit. Push rods don't line up well. It seams the body is the major problem, wings and tail surfaces were ok. After seeing the quality of this model it is very disturbing to see how the quality has diminished. Tuff to swallow for the price. Definitely not Hangar 9 Quality! Did Hangar 9 change factories ?
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
donship
 
Please wait while more information about donship is loaded.
Additional information about donship could not be loaded.
Posted November 29, 2013
I had some quality issue as well, although not like yours...my right-hand-side wing had a big dent in it with broken balsa underneath.
I simply called Horizon Cust. Service and they readily and happily sent me a new wing halve. No problem whatsoever....and prompt. I sent them pics to show the damage, and it was done.
So, even though there was some shipping or handling damage, HH did what they needed and I am a happy customer!
My advice: Always call the Customer Service line. They are very nice people and are always willing to make the customer happy. That has not changed with HH.
Customer Avatar
SGTJRS11
 
Please wait while more information about SGTJRS11 is loaded.
Additional information about SGTJRS11 could not be loaded.
Posted May 9, 2013
To be fair with Horizon hobbies and Hangar 9 I have to add the following comments. Although the fit was not exactly the quality I expected the plane did come out rather nice after I made the adjustments needed. I flew it for the first time yesterday and I was very pleased, It flew wonderfully with almost no trim adjustments. It has a E -flite power 60 motor, 16x8 e prop,100 mHa CC ESC and 4400 mHa battery for power. AR 6210 receiver and DX-8 Transmitter. I have the controls on a separate JR 5 cell nicad. I located it 1/2 way back in the body for balance. Removed covering from middle opening in bottom and fabricated a battery box and hatch cover., no added weight needed. JR Digital sport servos and Du-bro safety lock clevises. I turned the landing gear around for better handling on the ground (Grass Field). Flight time around 8 minutes with tons of power. All in all I will not hesitate to buy Hanger 9 again.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Deverson
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
DISAPPOINTED
 PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Hanger 9 I thought meant quality. Quality sure was lacking in the plane they sent me. Two of the four blind nut tabs that hold the cowl on were broke and not from shipping. There was glue on the covering and the bolt on tail section would not fit flush. Being excited about ordering what you think is a quality plane, not to mention the amout of money you pay for it, and then recieve an inferior plane not only made me disappointed but makes me think long and hard about ordering another Hanger 9.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SGTJRS11
 
Please wait while more information about SGTJRS11 is loaded.
Additional information about SGTJRS11 could not be loaded.
Posted January 20, 2013
I also found the quality to be very poor. I have had several Hangar 9 planes in the past and all were excellent in quality. I have no idea what happened here. Maybe its just a band batch. It seems the body is the main problem. Hope they work it out soon.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LetsFlyToday
Location: Washington State
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 45-54
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
A very nice airplane
 PostedMay 29, 2012
I bought this as a re-entry plane into RC. It's been years since i've flown a plane but I have been flying Helis for the last 4 years. Equipped with a Saito 1.15 and 14/8 prop this bird sings! Love the way she flys. Nearly ballistic under full throttle and floats like a glider while idling. She is a joy to fly and after the two gallons of fuel I've ran though her I've never been disappointed.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stickyfingers
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pulse XT60
 PostedMarch 1, 2012
I received my XT60 today and I was very pleased with the packing of the plane. All parts were in great condition and fit perfectly. I put everything together ready to fly in 3 hours. i mounted a FA100GK on it and i cant wait to break it in. The only thing that has my blood pressure raised a bit is the set screws for the wheel collars were missing. I watched a video on you tube with this cat unboxing his. I remember him saying that they were missing as well. So i guess Hanger 9 does this for a reason? i guess they cant be perfect all the time.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pilot10
Location: Napa, CA
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 65 or over
Length of time in hobby: 21-29 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pulse XT 60 ARF
 PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Nice kit, but both wing halves were a little warped (washout) at the tips. Required a fair amount of left aileron to fly straight. Other than the wing warps, the kit went together easily and flys well.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maverick1224
Location: McDonough, GA
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 46-55
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great 2nd plane!
 PostedJuly 9, 2011
I have recently returned to RC after about 20 plus years and was really worried if I still had the touch. I started out on the Alpha as my trainer and then decided to go ahead and start building something more advanced. After much research, I decided on the Pulse 60. It had a bright color scheme and was a large target for the eyes to follow in the sky. I recieved the Pulse, it was a fairly easy build for someone who use to build from kits, thank God for ARF's. After the build I noticed some right thrust angle on the prop, so I called Hangar 9 to make sure this was supposed to be there. The rep informed me that my build was correct (P-factor) so my mind was at ease. I used the Spektrum DX8 radio and JR servos with a Saito 100 for the project. After a break in on the Saito, I took it to the field and taxied out. The Saito has lots of power so pay attention to your rudder control on take off. Off it went and with about three or four clicks of up elevator she was flying hands off at half throttle. It's easy to do aerobatics with the low wing but it will still glide in nicely for landings. I am quite satisfied and feel it is a great 2nd plane to practice more advanced aerobatics and learn to handle a tail dragger as well. Great job Hangar 9!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
shepard62
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Weak structure
 PostedJune 23, 2011
On the third flight , the tail failed while the plane was flying . During a shallow dive the horizontal stabilizer broke in flight which was no fun.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DirtyDan
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 11-20 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
A fun plane to fly .
 PostedApril 13, 2011
I own many types of airplanes and out of all my planes this one is one of my favorite. Easy assembly and a dream to fly. I used a satio 100 GK and a JR 8 ch xp8103 FM.
Review 12 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
corndogcj
Location: Sacramento, CA
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 15-29
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Another good Pulse
 PostedMarch 21, 2011
I sold my mini pulse about a year ago to pay bills and was glad to see that I could get back into the hobby with another bigger Pulse powered by E-Flite electronics. I have installed the recommended JR servos, Power 60 motor and 60a ESC from E-Flite. This plane pulls very hard straight up with tons of power on a 4000mah 6s 25c battery. This build was worth every penny. It flies as easy as E-Flite's Mini Pulse XT and I think the 60 is faster. I could not emphasize more the power and reliability of electric flight. Be warned though, if you go electric on this model do not use a 16X8 prop. On landing I caught the tip of the prop a couple times on the runway. Since then I have moved to a 15X8 which seems to have fixed the problem. Maybe I just need to be better at landing...
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
funtana100
Location: OCRCC Orange, Texas
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
GREAT FUN FLY
 PostedNovember 29, 2010
The plane goes together very easily and straight. I powered mine with a Saito 100, but I mounted it inverted to keep the top lines intact. The plane flies great with no surprises, a very good sport plane.
Review 14 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
planelover777
Location: Toronto, ON
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Under 15
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
I love it
 PostedNovember 28, 2010
I love this plane, I bought it after my Alpha 60, and is absolutely amazing, I have mine powered with all the recommended electronics, I have mine with an AR7000 with full telemetry with the DX8, it is so fun to fly, I have a Saito 100 GK installed and is definitely the best engine I own, very easy to tune and break-in, This plane is very basic and simple, but if you want to go aggressive with it you can, its a great aerobatic trainer!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jman135
Location: Phoenix
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 46-55
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
Smooth Flyer
 PostedNovember 15, 2010
I just flew the maiden flight and it is a very smooth flying plane. Takes off with very short runway needed. It has the best landing characteristics of any plane I've owned. You can kiss the runway on touchdown with the softest landing imaginable. Then it rolls out nice and straight. I'm flying a 2-cycle 0.60 engine which has plenty of power for takeoffs but is a bit under powered for vertical climbs. I'm going to increase the aileron throws a bit since rolls are a bit slow with the recommended rate in the manual. Overall a great plane with excellent visibility with the nice pattern on the under side of the wings.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brian2008
Location: Louisville, Ky
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
AWESOME!!! Airplane!!!
 PostedNovember 9, 2010
I just flew this plane today for the first time and WOW!!! It is awesome!!! Very smooth flying plane! I have a brand new Saito 100 on it, wow this thing flys awesome and it takes about three to four feet to get airborne. It's like flying a trainer plane except you can do just about anything you want to do with it. I am using the recommended 14x8 prop, this thing will climb like crazy!!! And it floats like a trainer, when you go to land it will just float right in, Such a SMOOTH flying plane!!! I am very pleased with this plane, I have to give it five stars all the way!!!!
Review 17 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
xcz5785
I would recommend this to a friend!
Get it!!
 PostedOctober 23, 2010
I am returning to RC after a 20 years. This will be my second plane this season after relearning on a high wing trainer. I was looking for a plane that would be easily controllable but be able to do some basic aerobatics. This plane has exceeded my expectations!! With an O.S. 91 it will almost float right in (not quite like a Cub) and will do a lomcevak! The only wish is that it gave instuctions for mounting in other directions and I don't care for the colors too much. ( although it is very visable) It's a great plane and would recomend it to even a seasoned flyer.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flyforfun1
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 46-55
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
PULSE FAN!
 PostedSeptember 16, 2010
After flying the 40 pulse I just had to have the 60. Easy assembly, great looking and with the .61 engine, it's a blast to fly. I look forward to adding the 125 Pulse to my hanger. Pulse fan for sure!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bandit45
Location: Texas
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 46-55
Length of time in hobby: 11-20 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Excellent First Plane for Returning Pilot
 PostedSeptember 11, 2010
I flew for several years back in the late 90's and early in the new millennium. Recently had the itch to get back into the hobby and picked the 60 sized Pulse to re-educate my thumbs. I have NOT been disappointed with my decision. Plane flies like it's on rails and very forgiving. With a Saito 100 you have ample power even at half throttle to do just about any maneuver your thumbs can create. I only made a couple mods, one was personal preference (horizontal engine position) and the second was needed for better ground handling. She's a bit nose tipsy on the ground, more so on a grass field. Swapping the landing gear around to where there's a rake forward stance solved all those issues.
She's a keeper and if she ever meets disaster from a bout of dumb thumbs. I'd replace her in a heartbeat!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pulse XT 60 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rmel
Location: Edmundston, NB
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Excellent Value, Easy to Fly
 PostedAugust 19, 2010
Very stable plane. lots of power with the electric motor version. I love it.
1 2 next>>