Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Horizon Hobby.

Hangar 9 Pulse 125 ARF

Pulse 125 ARF
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 16(94%)customers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Pulse 125 ARF
Review 1 for Pulse 125 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly210
Location: Ohio
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great Plane
 PostedDecember 8, 2013
I am sad that Horizon has chosen to discontinue this arf. What a fabulous plane. Horizon, please change your mind. You got the bugs worked out of it then dumped it. I have flown this plane for 2 seasons putting over 150 hours on it. It is by far my favorite plane. It really responds to the transmitter and goes where you point it. Can't say enough about it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pulse 125 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kman712
Location: Illinois
I would recommend this to a friend!
Super airplane
 PostedApril 11, 2013
I have had my Pulse for a couple of years now and fly it on a regular basis. I started out with the 40 size but a mid-air caused me to get another one. This time I got the 125 size and have loved the plane. The covering is very good and I am using the standard hardware without any problems. This plane can fly slow and easy or do many of the acrobatics that sport fliers like to do. I have a Saito 100 on mine and it provides all the power I need.
I would buy one of these again. They fly great and have a look that everyone finds appealing. They really get attention at the field. Buy one of these and you will never regret it.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pulse 125 ARF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CarlosHK4ECG
Location: Medellin
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great plane
 PostedMarch 7, 2013
It's a wonderful rc plane, its flight is very stable and smooth. It glides through the air without drag. With home made floats the plane looks awesome.
User submitted photo
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pulse 125 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lipolover
Location: Denver area
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 65 or over
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Makes me look like a beter piolet than I am
 PostedJuly 7, 2012
Had a 40 size, and moved up to this. Handles wind better, and is more visible flying. There have not been any parts of this airplane that have been weak points. One of the easiest planes to land that I have. Very stable in the air. Battery access cover is an outstanding design...no tools, yet very secure and easy access. This has become a favort of mine.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pulse 125 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DavidR
Location: Denver
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 45-54
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
 PostedMarch 12, 2012
Excellent airplane! Fun to fly! Have owned 3 of these. Only issue was my flying ability......going too far. The airplane is a joy to fly. I will continue to buy them as long as they are available. Until I perfect my flying with it. No complaints!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pulse 125 ARF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BobbyD
Location: Jackson, Ms.
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 65 or over
Length of time in hobby: 21-29 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pulse 125
 PostedDecember 24, 2011
Just finished building, took first flight. Flies very good as I expected, like the low speed flying characteristics, handles very well. I like to do my manuvers low and slow. Overall finish and quality are very good. Caution. This is not a high speed plane, get something else if this is what you are looking for. However there are a lot things that don't measure up. To pay $300.00 and then have to do what I did is not good.To start with the pretty landing gear is the main thing. I had to pitch it and use another one to correct the bad tendenicies. It is too flexable, and too low to the ground both allowing for prop strikes and the wheels are too far back making it tipsy on the ground, even when balanced for flight. The tail wheel is junk, the same as Great Planes uses,any hard landing will destroy the rudder, pitch it and get a Dubro mount it to the fusealodge. Glue the tail and fin on don' t depend on the two bolts. If you use a two stroke lay it on it's side or you might have to wind up having to use a pump, plus this gets the exhust down under the wing. The cute little wing bolts were tthe wrong thread pitch would not work, had to pitch them and use 1/4/20 which were better anyhow. Used tristock to beef up around the firewall and wing area. Mainily and mostly do not overpower this airplane. A 120/25 is more than enough power. If you read the reviews those who overpower them are losing them. Kept within it's bounds it is a very good flying airplane. I am more impressed with the OS 120 I have on it than I am the airplane. Think maybe it was first designed for a electric. It's just too light, mine weighs ten pounds ready to fly, 120 jerks it around like there is nothing hooked to it.
Over all on a 1-10 scale I will give it a 7 rating. It's just an OK airplane but Iike it for what it is....Would not buy another one though.
I am not rying to run it down as these are just my experiences with it, yours and your needs may be different. I have been flying for quite a while and I kinda have a feel for what it takes to make them live in the real world of flying. You cannot make them crashproof but they have to be able to survive a hard landing occasionally...It's really nice to take them out, fly them and bring them home and hang them up........ Cheers...
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pulse 125 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Karl108
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a year
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 46-55
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pulse 125
 PostedJune 8, 2011
This is a great plane to have, went together as it should with no problem, and looks great finished.
It flies like a dream as long as you get the COG rite and lands like a top wing trainer.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pulse 125 ARF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
peanutdash
Location: Dallas / Fort Worth
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Smooth flyer
 PostedMay 29, 2011
Great looking, and fun to fly, but... This plane needs a somewhat calm day. Otherwise, it is way too light from the tutle deck on back, cross wind makes taxing on the runway next to impossible (even with full up elevator) I had powered this plane with both a Saito 180 and 150; it flew like a charm, untill the wings sheared off from too much g force pulling out of a dive with the 180. I would love to purchase this plane again, but this time use the new OS pumped engines or the super tigre g2300 2stroke. The YS 115s would br perfect for it (if you feel like tweaking mixtures every week)
Overall, very fun plane!!!
pulse125 saito 180
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pulse 125 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrSam
Location: Westview, KY.
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
awesome
 PostedNovember 30, 2010
The quality of this plane is great, building a breeze, Excellent low wing trainer on low rates. I used an OS 120 4 stroke.
tale offs very realistic it will track the entire runway ease back on the stick a gentle climb to the sky. Landings wow. Take it up again hot on the throtle on high rates see what she will do. Don't miss the Pulse 125. With a little air time it would make a beginner look good and a veteran come down satisfied
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pulse 125 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CrazyZ
Location: Ft.Lauderdale, FL
Hobbyist Type: Competitive
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great Plane
 PostedJune 7, 2010
I use an Eflite 110 electric motor with 8s/4000mA, I tell you this plane flies like a bird. The CG is a little more toward to the back, but once you get it right...it's really very easy to fly. Very easy to land, but be careful because the landing gears can break off easily from the fuselage if you do a hard "touch down". The 110 gives you very good power, it's fast and you can do some aerobatics too. Highly recommend this plane.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pulse 125 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ncc1701a
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Horizon Service
 PostedApril 22, 2010
As you see from other reviews the stab has been an issue. I lost my plane on the fifth flight. However, Horizon was great and I now have the new plane with the redesigned tail. I have not flown it yet for I plan to put pins in the stab for extra safety. Other than that this plane flys great. I use the power 110 set up with a 9 cell. Verticle performance is not a problem. I use the Castle Creations 110 High volt speed controller and their new programing card to set the timing to low and the power is great. The main point of this review is to say thanks to Horizon for their service.
Jason
Apache Junction, AZ
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pulse 125 ARF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aeroloco
Location: Tampico, Mexico
Hobbyist Type: Competitive
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
Fun to fly, but it needs help
 PostedMarch 25, 2010
The plane came out of the box just as I would send it to someone else. Like the quality on the craftsmanship, but would like to have a more reinforced fuselage, a more secure stab by placing a couple of straps (I installed 4 and worked great – no more flutter above half throttle), and let me take care of the hinges by using a much better glue.
The flying with this airplane is easy, and bought it because my club mates refer to this plane's small brothers as wonder planes – and they were right. If you are looking to upgrade into more advanced aerobatics or simply look better on your sport flying, the Pulse 125 can help you a lot by gaining more confidence on controlling the plane while performing a maneuver, improve your feeling of a plane during all the fly stages, and having a model that can give you a second chance on your mistakes. But be careful not to ease your fly by its easy handling and quick response, or you can rapidly be misled into a negligent and careless flying.
Bottom line: quick and easy to build, and very good plane to improve your flying skills.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pulse 125 ARF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Diedrich
Location: Hendersonville, NC
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great flying plane
 PostedMarch 24, 2010
This is a great looking and flying plane. Had a few problems in the beginning with the stab and elevator, but it was an easy fix. Hanger 9 has recognized the problem and is fixing it. Nice kit and well made.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pulse 125 ARF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
uiboinus
I would recommend this to a friend!
Careful
 PostedMarch 2, 2010
This is an excellent flyer. No question about it. However, it has problems but easy to fix. (1) Pin down all hinges. Mine pulled out elevator after 8th flight. I was luck enough to land it safely. (2) Reinforce horizontal stabilizer. After 2 more flights, stabilizer failed mid air. I still like mine because it is a very nice airplane
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pulse 125 ARF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jf1957
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 46-55
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
My favorite model
 PostedFebruary 24, 2010
I purchased this kit as soon as it became available. I own both the Mini Pulse and the Pulse 25e and really like them. They have been flown more than any other my other models and are always in the car when I go to the field or school yard. The 125 Pulse is better than either of the smaller models. It flys areobatics well enough to give me confidence to try new stunts and is very fogiving. It is also the easiest airplane to land that I have ever flown.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Pulse 125 ARF
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5