Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

ParkZone Ember 2 BNF

Tiny, slow and lots of fun – you’re sure to get big enjoyment out of the Ember 2™.
Average Customer Rating:
4.74 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
50 out of 50(100%)customers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Ember 2 BNF
Review 1 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NERDTECH
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 45-54
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
PLANE, OR GLIDER?
 PostedOctober 31, 2011
ITS A PLANE AND GLIDER.. LIGHT WIND OK. FLIES ITSELF. WITH LITTLE CORRECTION. BRING SCOTCH TAPE, FOR FIELD REPAIRS TO WEAK TAIL.HINGE. SLOW, FAST, FUN. ANYONE CAN FLY.THE BEST TRAINER EVER!
Review 2 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jimhbfromde
Location: Bear, de
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 45-54
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great slow flyer!
 PostedSeptember 18, 2011
A nice easy to control slow flyer capable of loops and inverted flight (with practice)
This RC will not "land itself" like the Champ can but is capable of slow flight and is easy to control.
Fly over grass and in winds less than 5 MPH to reduce crash damage.
asphalt and cement are bad for foamies!!!
Review 3 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Youace
Location: Greenwich, CT
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 65 or over
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
Ember 2
 PostedSeptember 16, 2011
This model fills a unique position and need in the RC airplane hobby.
It is easy to fly for the beginner and is very durable as a trainer or all around fun airplane. It tolerates wind better than the vapor and thus can be flown outside in very light wind.
I love the fact that you can step out back or in the street in front of my house and not have to drive to a park or model field.
Parts are readily available and plane is reasonably easy to repair.
Review 4 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dknox
Location: Tucson, AZ
Hobbyist Type: Beginner
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Sooo much fun!
 PostedJuly 12, 2011
Took the kids to the park with my brand new (free with Phx Sim) Ember 2 - used my DX5e controller and plane flew great. Wind was calm outside and the plane flew straight and true, very easy to fly. This is a far better trainer than the Super Cub we've bought twice over.
Review 5 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Red70
Location: Near Kansas City, MO
Hobbyist Type: Beginner
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Excellent Park Flier
 PostedMay 7, 2011
Very good for calm wind outdoor fun.
No problems with Horizon Hobby at all.
Hard to dammage since it is so light.
Takes off from a smooth surface and when trimmed out is easy to fly.
Review 6 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bailey
Location: Boulder, CO
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 46-55
Length of time in hobby: 11-20 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Everybody needs one!
 PostedMay 3, 2011
First one flew away after over a year of fun. Totally my fault since I was seeing how high I could fly it - VERY. This is a beginner plane and very good for learning to fly, but also a ton of fun for any level flier who just wants something that can be played with in the yard or local park. I'll always have a few micros in my quiver!
Review 7 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tcmitch1
Location: Florida
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great out of the box!!
 PostedMay 3, 2011
I bought the BNF model. I bound it to my DX6i and I was flying in no time out on my street in front of my house. Flew really smooth and no glitches in the servos. Very easy 3 channel flying. My only wish is this airplane needs to fly in more than calm winds. That way I can fly in all kinds of weather. You really have to fly this thing in almost NO WIND or it will get blown away if in more than 5 MPH winds. Otherwise it's a great model.
Review 8 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rcisfun
Location: Winston salem, NC
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 46-55
Length of time in hobby: 21-29 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
amber 2
 PostedMay 3, 2011
It is a pleasure to fly this little plane, it flies so slow it would make a great trainer.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gobbler
Location: Dallas, Oregon
Hobbyist Type: Beginner
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Very Relaxing
 PostedMay 2, 2011
It's a blast to fly and fairly easy unless there's a breeze, then it get's tricky. But fun and relaxing because of the slow but quick reactions it has. Learn to USE the breeze and fly high, then just glide, this also saves battery time. I was amazed to get around 20 minutes my first flight. I have some sim time but no actual flight time with a slowfliyer. Did manage to get it caught in a tree first time out but a guy who was at the park watching me pulled over and said to me, "get on the cab of my truck and we'll get it out" as it was on the lower limbs. He then said..." I love watching you fly but can't watch if it's in a tree" . So we got it out. Can't wait to fly it indoors. I would not say it's for intermediate pilots, beginners with a bit of sim time will have no problem. Great product and very durable.......
Review 10 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sandray
I would recommend this to a friend!
for $60 BNF that is a great deal
 PostedMay 2, 2011
I don't have an indoor area to fly, so fly in small area boxed in with Trees. Handles very sweet, for a relaxing and great time.. cant beat it. Beginner to Pro, will like this little plane. This plane is so light, any breeze will send it tumbling. My only major issue, i have to rebind it every time i go out to fly it.
Review 11 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Location: New York
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 11-20 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
great beginner plane
 PostedMay 2, 2011
This plane is perfect for learning on. I bought it to teach people to fly indoors. With a little help, it loops and can be kept inverted. It does not handle wind at all. I strictly fly it inside.
Very relaxing little plane. I flew it with a "lets see how slow i can make it go" mind set, and flew for 30 minutes on one 120 mAh battery. I was amazed.
Review 12 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FoamWrecker
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great back yard flyer !
 PostedApril 14, 2011
This is a sweet little back yard flyer ! I have a small back yard full of my wife's dog jumps, "A" frames,
etc. and a few trees. I do slalom around all this stuff. Well - sometimes around it, but often into it !
This plane is hard to damage - (Just be careful when pulling it OUT of the bushes) This is my second Ember-2. The first still flies after a year of hitting dog jumps, porch railings, etc. but the tail is pretty beet, and for $63 I bought a new plane instead of a new tail section!
I down rated it's fun factor slightly only because I'd like ailerons (but then it would be more fragile!)
Review 13 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RCPirate
Location: Abingdon, MD
Hobbyist Type: Beginner
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 46-55
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great Front Yard Flyer
 PostedApril 5, 2011
The perfect plane for the front yard (or back yard). I bought this model to fly in the evenings when I don't have time to run to a field. Easy to fly and turns on a dime, you can't ask for more!
Review 14 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warden
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great little plane!
 PostedApril 4, 2011
This plane bound up to my DX5e with no problem. It features three-channel congtrol and flies very well. It's an indoor plane but could be flown outdoors in near calm conditions. It flies well but what really surprised me about this set-up is the flight duration with the standard battery. I didn't actually time it but suffice it to say there is no way you could call it a short flight.
Review 15 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jerr
Location: Plymouth, MA
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Simple and still fun!
 PostedMarch 18, 2011
You gota love simplisity! That's what the micros are all about. Simple and FUN!
Review 16 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ben001
I would recommend this to a friend!
My first micro-plane
 PostedMarch 17, 2011
I find it fun to fly. The only thing I don't like is that the fuselage is twisted a little and the wing and stabilizer are not on same plane when looking at it from the front or back. I don't think this affect the flight performance but it does not look good to me. Any suggestion ????
Review 17 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VandA
Location: Napa, CA
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great First Plane(s)!
 PostedMarch 13, 2011
I’ll try to make this short and informative. After a while of having bad luck with R/C helicopters, I thought I would give R/C airplanes a try. I have the Phoenix flight simulator (huge help in training) and a Spektrum DX6i (solid versatile radio), both of which I highly recommend.
I wanted my first plane to be simple, lightweight, and easy to fly. I wanted to be able to fly it in a small area. And, I wanted to know that if I crashed it, that it would not damage anything (or anyone) else. I purchased the Parkzone Ember 2 BNF. It was the perfect first plane for me. It is easy to fly, relaxing to fly, a great basic trainer, and, perhaps most importantly, a lot of fun to fly. I’ve about 30 flights now and am still not bored. You can actually fly it inverted! And in the right winds, I can even get it to hover. No crashes yet. It has become my “Zen" plane, a slow and meditative flyer.
Eventually though, I wanted to experience the additional control and maneuverability of ailerons. So I spent some time on my simulator getting prepared and then purchased the Parkzone Micro T-28 BNF. Again, another great plane. It is very easy to fly (on low rates) and pretty capable with higher rates (and higher pushrod throws). I did the research beforehand and read a lot of complaints about the slow roll of the plane. But I’ve experienced the opposite. After honing my skills on the simulator using elevator and ailerons, I can get the plane to roll very quickly (>1/2 second/roll). I’ve flown it over 20 times now and each time I learn new moves, and again, no crashes.
And, with no crashes, I cannot yet comment on the durability (they look and feel really durable), but I can say that they are both great beginner planes and lot of fun to fly. I'm now ready for my next purchase: the Eflite UMX Beast.
On a related side note, I have purchased both the 150 mAh (EFLB1501S) and 500 mAh (EFLB5001S) batteries for use in the T-28. You need to buy a JST to micro adaptor to use the 500 mAh battery, but other than that it works just fine. In fact, I did not even need to modify the battery compartment, I was able to just kind of squeeze it in there. It fits nice and snugly. In terms of performance, the 150 mAh offers great vertical and power opportunities, while the 500 mAh offers really long flight times (15-18 mins) but with slightly slower response, and due to the extra weight higher cruising and landing speeds.
Good luck and have some fun flying!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mark12345678
Location: Garden Grove, CA
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 46-55
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Excellent Performer
 PostedOctober 31, 2010
It's a good-looking plane; reminds me of the slow stick, but with a major downsize, but everything else about it has not. The handling is what you'd expect from a high-wing plane. It's a pleasure to fly. The strength to weight ratio is just about ideal, making it very durable and able to flown in winds that would ground the Night Vapor. In fact, I've flown the Ember 2 in what felt like three mile per hour winds...the takeoffs are risky, but once it's at altitude, I am able to shut off the motor and allow it to ride thermals for a limited amount of time. The wheels are so small, that the whole plane would actually trip over coarse asphalt during landing, so what I do is catch the plane as it heads towards me. Or if there is grass, I land it there. It's a wonderful first plane for post-simulator beginners, but many seasoned fliers own this craft.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kenvro
Location: North Idaho
Hobbyist Type: Beginner
Frequency of Use: Daily
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great starter plane
 PostedSeptember 28, 2010
After a little sim time I bought a Super Cub and Immediately flew it into the ground so then I was intimidated by its size and the space needed to fly it. I wanted to be able to practice around my yard so after some research I bought the Ember 2. Great decision! This is a sweet, fun, easy to fly plane. I got the BNF version and bound it to my DX6i. Within two or three attempts, I could fly! My backyard is long and narrow with lots of pine and fir trees that I have to weave around and the Ember 2 does it with ease. It turns on a dime. I have since bought several other Parkzone and Hobbyzone planes including 4 channel and I can fly them all including the Super Cub, thanks to this plane. I fly it every day. I have one complaint. Like the J-3 Cub, the prop and prop shaft break very easily. The prop shaft breaks right where the threads end, but I found a solution. After assembling the prop and spinner on the shaft, I put CA on the back of the spinner, joining the spinner and prop permanently. I then add a fillet of CA around the shaft where it goes into the prop. I no longer have problems. Too bad they don't use a large prop shaft like the Parkzone Champ.
Review 20 for Ember 2 BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mangs
Location: VA
Hobbyist Type: Beginner
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great backyard flyer
 PostedSeptember 27, 2010
It has been over 15yrs since I was serious about RC flying. Bought this plane after reading some of the reviews on here, and knew I would need a plane that was gentle. This plane is amazing, it’s simple to fly, it’s quite durable, and it’s amazingly agile. You can fly it in the tightest area’s I have flown it in 10mph winds (don’t recommend), and have had it near a 1000 ft up on thermals. If you’re looking for a plane that you can learn on, or just for a plane that is a blast to fly in your backyard you may want to consider this little guy. If I was to be picky I would say the cost might be a tad high compared to the other mico’s, and the stock battery should have been a 120ma 3.7v. Regardless you can go wrong with this guy.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>