Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

ParkZone F4U-1A Corsair PNP

F4U-1A Corsair PNP
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14(100%)customers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for F4U-1A Corsair PNP
Review 1 for F4U-1A Corsair PNP
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Newpoppy2
Location: Nappanee, IN
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great Corsair Purchase
 PostedSeptember 30, 2012
I was very happy to finally get the New Corsair last Thursday (9-27-2012) which I had on order with my local hobby shop for over two months. I bought the PNP version and was very happy in the way it went together. One thing I wished the manual had in it would have been the color scheme paint touch up numbers. When I removed it from the foam packing, the wing had a small spot of paint (Dark Blue) missing on the leading edge. Luck was on my side because the hobby shop picked out a small bottle that almost matches, which will get me by.
Very easy to assemble, looks great, and flew great with the conventional landing gear installed.
The retract set did not arrive until late on Friday.
The retracts were installed Friday evening after test flying it in the afternoon with stock wheels. The plane did everything I am able to do with it with ease.
Comments at the field with other members of my club liked it as well.
One thing I would have to agree with “Happy Customer” review is that the landing gear door attachments are very weak so I did not install them. Also I had to do the same thing he did to the flaps by installing strapping tape to all 6 segments of the flaps. Two or thee segments cracked and broke loose on the bench when installing the servos ,push rods and horns. Painting the tape afterwards worked out also so you don’t hardly see they had an issue.
However my opinion is not the same as his on the quality of the Electric Retracts. The first flight on them on Saturday morning everything was fine with a three point landing on our Petromat Fabric Runway. On the second flight the landing was almost as good as the first except it did a slight bounce and was back flying about a foot off the ground and then a second landing which broke the gear completely off. The material used inside the retract to hold the strut should not be plastic in my opinion. If you were to fly this plane off of the normal grass field like most clubs have, it will not last. However on Saturday the same guys that like the plane on Friday are not sure they would add the retracts, just fly the conventional gear.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for F4U-1A Corsair PNP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RWKFlyer
Location: San Diego
I would recommend this to a friend!
New and Improved
 PostedOctober 5, 2012
I had the previous version of the Corsair and never bothered to repair it after an intimate encounter with a tree. I decided to give the A1 a go and see how they compared. What a nice surprise. This one is also a quick assembly, but it appears to be substantially more robust. The gull wings look like they have been reenforced with plywood and the horizontal stabilizer seems a bit thicker as well.
Assembly took about a half hour, taking my time. I didn't install flaps and while they might help slow this bird down, you really don't need them. Where I fly, retracts are a liability so I went without them as well. I found the CG dead on using a 2200 mAh battery. The battery slides into a slot unlike any other I've come across and it makes switching batteries quick and painless. No guesswork or having to mark the CG. Great design.
The plane is heavier than its predecessor--definitely not a floater. You do need to keep the power up when turning and aerobatics will be difficult without good throttle management. I am getting about 6-7 minutes on a battery using mixed throttle runs. If you want to run your batteries down more than I typically do, you could get 8-10 minutes off a 2200.
I had plenty of power for quick takeoffs and the gentle aerobatics that you expect from a war bird. Loops, rolls, hammerheads are possible with proper throttle management. Stalls are gentle and predictable. Gull wings give me fits with orientation at distance on bright days, but the color scheme helps.
All in all, I like this version better than the original. I think I'll be flying this one a lot.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for F4U-1A Corsair PNP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jeteropilot
Location: houston
I would recommend this to a friend!
Me Likey
 PostedOctober 4, 2012
Super easy to assemble. The airplane looks great right out of the box. In fact, I think it looked better before I put the stickers on it. BUT, once you place a sticker on the airplane, you can't remove it or it will take the paint off with it. So, be advised. And the stickers aren't very high quality, you can see the shiny clear outline around the decals. Not good. But that stuff is all cosmetic and you can't tell at 6 feet away.
Now to the control throws. The recommended throws were too fast for my tastes. I like to move the sticks around when I fly. So I started on LOW and reduced that several times during the day, I'm guessing by 15% to 20%, on the ELEVATOR and AIRLERONS and added 10% EXPO on each. AND I wacked 20% off the rudder throw also. This gave the airplane a nice heavy solid feeling. And it looked solid too. Winds were 10 to 12, but mostly smooth over open country. The plane looked and felt fantastic. I used the stock fixed gear. The retract reviews were very bad so I stayed way. Keep it simple, right. I am thrilled with this little airplane. Oh, one other thing. Although there is a cooling air inlet in the firewall. there is no outlet anywhere on the airplane. Somehow, mysteriously, the ESC and battery stay cool. The big prop nut gets pretty hot acting like a heat sink. So, it might need a hole in the belly some hot sunny day. Over all, I am very happy.
User submitted photo
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for F4U-1A Corsair PNP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Triumph
Location: NH
I would recommend this to a friend!
Happy Customer
 PostedSeptember 27, 2012
I am very happy with Horizon and my LHS for their support. I had an issue and they were both great and had me up and flying today with my new Corsair. Thank you.
I bought the PNP and it was everything I have come to expect from a PZ warbird. Easy to assemble, great looks, and flies wonderfully. Stalls are extremely gentle, sport aerobatics are crisp, speed is nice for a 3s stock airplane, and the rotating retracts add a new level of cool. Everyone at the field commented on the sound. It has a great whoosh sound on fly-bys.The scale radial engine is also a nice touch as well.
A couple things I can caution you about. The gear door attachments are a little weak. One of mine broke on installation, but I simply added a small piece of CA hinge and glue to reinforce it. Also the flaps require some careful installation. I had to reinforce the foam hinge with some hinge tape. Nothing major at all.
Easy to build, fun to fly, sounds cool, retracts work perfectly, looks awesome, and great customer support.
User submitted photo
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
kevinrc
 
Please wait while more information about kevinrc is loaded.
Additional information about kevinrc could not be loaded.
Posted October 12, 2013
Don't tape those hinges. The tape will stick to the paint, but the paint won't stick to the airplane.
Install nylon hinges or CA hinges and you won't need to worry about hinges again.
Customer Avatar
Triumph
 
Please wait while more information about Triumph is loaded.
Additional information about Triumph could not be loaded.
Posted October 7, 2012
Update:
I bought this airplane because I wanted something scale with flaps and retracts. The flap hinges crack and break. Tape them before you fly. The retracts are rubbish. Mine didn't last 10 normal landings before they shattered on the inside. They are extremely brittle. I spent the extra money on the eflite retracts and name brand everything to avoid this kind of stuff. Plane flies nice, but I wouldn't plan on retracts until they come out with a new version.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for F4U-1A Corsair PNP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gentile44
Location: Birmingham, AL
I would recommend this to a friend!
Smooth and powerful!
 PostedOctober 6, 2012
I really pleased with this Corsair. I had the original Parkzone version and it was light and maneuverable. I feared this new one with retracts and flaps would be heavy and lug around. Not so. The 15 size motor is plenty - all the power you would ever need. Half flaps on takeoff, up in no time. Full flaps get it down in a hurry with no rocking tendency at low speed. I heard the retract woes but I've had no problems with the Eflites, even on grass. I planned for the pitch up adding flaps for landing, never happened. I left the tanks off; no need to slow it down and i thought they were a bit goofy. So I thought this was a great value that looks sharp flying by. I highly recommend this new Corsair.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for F4U-1A Corsair PNP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kenji
I would recommend this to a friend!
wing not robust enough
 PostedJune 6, 2014
I love this plane and have purchased the previous version as well. The only complaint I have is the wing is not reinforced enough. I have twice had the wing collapse when I was turning and I did not think that it was excess Gs for this plane (the first of three times I am not including as my grandson did apply a sharp up after a dive.). When I collected the pieces on the last two failures I found that the thin plywood strip was not really epoxied to the wing. It had come out of the foam wing cleanly with not a single piece of foam. This time I am going to use a hypodermic needle and inject some epoxy along the plywood strengtheners.
Review 7 for F4U-1A Corsair PNP
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pseudotro
I would recommend this to a friend!
Flies well now.
 PostedMarch 30, 2013
Had to re-hinge the whole plane. Flaps fell apart before maiden, so I added proper hinges. 3 flights in and the painted aileron hinge tape released. I was able to land with one aileron almost completely off. Broke the weak trunnions on the E-flite retracts that same day. I know its a separate issue but in my opinion it is releated to the overall review. I have flown it dozens of times since then. It flies AND lands really well now with the stock gear. I am hoping for some decent retracts one day.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
pseudotro
 
Please wait while more information about pseudotro is loaded.
Additional information about pseudotro could not be loaded.
Posted May 14, 2013
5 minute two part epoxy and small pieces of plastic milk container.
Dont need to crease the plastic pieces it is very flexable yet strong.
Customer Avatar
Capt4u
 
Please wait while more information about Capt4u is loaded.
Additional information about Capt4u could not be loaded.
Posted May 14, 2013
What did you do to re-hinge it? New tape? I have the same problem !
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for F4U-1A Corsair PNP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
forevercrash
Location: Manheim, Pa
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great little warbird !
 PostedAugust 15, 2014
Assembly went without issues. Installed the flaps and the ROUGH FIELD GEAR. Never tried the stock landing gear but cannot imagine that it would work on grass. The rough field gear on the other hand has larger wheels and is bent forward and allows for take off and landing without pitching over on short to medium grass. A challenge to get it to land without a hop or two, but always upright. Plane is stable and predictable.
Review 9 for F4U-1A Corsair PNP
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RCFLYR35466
I would recommend this to a friend!
Looks good, flies great
 PostedJanuary 27, 2013
An improvement over the older versions. The tail has been improved and it flies like a charm. The plane will land at a slower speed which causes less hopping on the runway that was a problem before. Put retracts and flaps on and it's even better. Had a problem with a retract breaking on a smooth landing but HH is sending a free replacement as I write this.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for F4U-1A Corsair PNP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TopKick
Location: Kyle, Txas
I would recommend this to a friend!
Glad I Purchased
 PostedJanuary 24, 2014
I enjoy flying this aircraft very much. Especially because I am still learning. It repairs easily. The 3 bladed prop is very weak and breaks easily. If you do take offs and landings I would opt for the heavy duty landing gear.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for F4U-1A Corsair PNP
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GBLynden
Location: Lynden, WA
I would recommend this to a friend!
Takes off and lands in grass!
 PostedDecember 15, 2013
I am happy to report that I have taken off and landed in grass for the majority of my flights so far and it handles it all very well even with stock landing gear.
Take-Offs and Landings in Muddy Grass
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for F4U-1A Corsair PNP
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GBLynden
Location: Lynden, WA
I would recommend this to a friend!
This is a nice plane and it is growing on me!
 PostedNovember 30, 2013
I like this plane and each day I own it, the more I like it. It flies well when dialed in and its stock landing gear is pretty darn good in grass.
My PNP Corsair!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for F4U-1A Corsair PNP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AMERICANSPIRIT
I would recommend this to a friend!
F4U-1A PNP
 PostedJuly 14, 2014
I absolutely love this plane! It is so fun to fly with additional flaps and retracts. This is a must have for any enthusiast .
Review 14 for F4U-1A Corsair PNP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tyrp
Location: South Weswern, Pa.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Favorite Plane.
 PostedMay 30, 2014
I always wanted a plane with all this one's great features and good looks. Very glad that I bought it. Thanks Horizon.