Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

ParkZone Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF

ParkZone’s first ever Ultra Micro Series Twin Engine Warbird that you can fly just about anywhere!
Average Customer Rating:
4.516 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
53 out of 62(85%)customers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Review 1 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shel
Location: Southern Louisiana
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 35-44
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Easy way into Twins
 PostedMarch 7, 2012
Great little plane if you're wanting to get a twin without all the hassle that some of the ARF twins can be getting things dialed in just right. This Plane flies awesome right out of the box. Plenty of power and seems to have a decent run time with the provided battery. A 500mah will fit and that would give a fantastic amount of flight time if you want more than the 7 or so minutes I got. I do a bit of non-scale flying with a lot of full throttle.
Handles fine with mild winds but not as good in heavier gusts... but hey, it's a micro and weighs next to nothing.
My only dissapointment is that the parts available is fairly poor. You can build most of the other Ultra Micros by scratch with the parts support but not so (yet) for the little Mosquito. On my fourth flight I had a bum landing (needs a little touch of throttle to land good) and I snapped one of the prop shafts right where the threads start. The props are the same size as the Corsair. Will try matching up a new shaft from the UM Mustang/T-28.
Over all I'm stoked with the plane, and can't wait to get the thing back up into the air shortly!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rancho
Hobbyist Type: Beginner
Frequency of Use: Daily
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 35-44
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Nice Plane
 PostedJanuary 15, 2012
It's a nice plane, I love it. I lost the first one by problems with the receiver, then bought another Mosquito but the same reception problem at 50m aprox, do the test and the problem is that the transmitter and receptor divorced after a few minutes of flight. Spektrum show its compatibility table that the transmitter "Ultra Micro ParkZone DSM2" is compatible but is false. If you want to fly the plane try another Spektrum radio like Dx5 or higher and is going to work very well. I lost money with the crash of both planes.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TeeSquared
Location: Vancouver B.C, Canada.
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 18-24
Length of time in hobby: 11-20 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Rewarding and fun to fly. Not for the novice!
 PostedSeptember 1, 2011
The UM Mosquito is my second ultra micro purchase after my Polecat. I was very impressed with how well the little Polecat performed and was excited to add a very hansom and scale twin to my hanger.
The Mosquito flies very nicely, though it is distinctly more challenging to fly than the Polecat. I'm using quite a bit of expo and a 25% mix of aileron-to-rudder mix to keep the tail from sliding out during turns. Even so the Mosquito can't be banked and yanked. You really need to fly this one smoothly at all times since it is intolerant of a heavy handed flyer. The Polecat or Sukhoi are more ideally suited to that role. The Mosquito doesn't like too much rudder (it'll tip stall at low speeds or drop the inboard wing excessively at higher speeds) and isn't the easiest model to handle at low air speeds. It's stable right down to a stall. but the response to control inputs is sluggish, especially the elevator. However, once you get used to it's limitations the Mosquito flies beautifully and mid to high speeds and is very rewarding to fly. It is very smooth and likes to be flown as such.
I really like the scale landing gear and steerable tail wheel since I think the best part about flying this plane is shooting touch and goes. The elevator becomes a little bit ineffective at low speeds so you need to fly approaches nose down with a bit of power. It doesn't like being dragged in nose high like a 3D plane. Once you get the hang of it though the landings look just great. So do take-offs since the tail rises quickly and rotation is smooth if there is no wind. It's a bit bouncier in the wind but still relatively easy to land. Just make sure you have some speed and power and fly the approach flat.
As with the other Ultra micros from horizon I've had experience with, the battery is a bit of a let-down. It provides plenty of power for tooling around and even enough to handle a breeze, but it flies so much better with a slightly larger and heavier Hyperion pack. The stock pack is fine for indoor flying or flying in low wind and it does still climb out briskly. Flight times are also good. I'm getting 7+ minutes of easy touch and goes.
The Mosquito is a bit fragile, especially compared to my Polecat, but thankfully like all the other micros, parts are cheap and easy to install. The skinned foam on the wing and tail creases easily, which looks ugly but doesn't seem to affect the way it flies. The foam on the fuselage also marks easily and the little cannons on the nose snap off the first time you nose over. They glue back on with a little bit of CA and kicker though.
The tail wheel could also use a bit more throw for taxing since it's turning radius is a bit excessive. It's a bit of a catch-22 though because the rudder is very powerful in flight and can provoke a tip stall if not used with caution at low speeds. This is a nit-pic though, really.
I'd recommend this one to experienced pilots only. Novices or intermediate pilots are likely to get frustrated with it since it can't really be flown aggressively. On the other hand, this model rewards the patient pilot with a beautiful scale flight envelope and amazing good looks in the air. I'm very pleased with this addition to my hanger.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WarbirdPilot
Location: Fargo, ND
I would recommend this to a friend!
Awsome!
 PostedOctober 13, 2013
I got this plane for christmas last year, and it is an incredible flier! I own 10 parkzone aircraft, and am currently flying 3d models and aerobatics, etc. But this is, for being an easier plane to fly, an incredible airplane! It is so much fun, and what really impresses me, is that it can fly 4 ft above the ground easily, with all the dyhedrial in the wings and the twin engines! A couple days ago, I had one of the propellers strip inside the shaft and it fell off in flight, and it can fly very well on 1 engine! I immediatly landed it and fixed it up. About 7 months ago, it also nosed into the ground. The plane held up great! With no cracks or peelings in the foam like other aircraft would get in a crash.
All in all, if you want an easier to fly micro(with experience of course) then this is the plane for you!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sean92886
I would recommend this to a friend!
flys like a lil cadilac
 PostedDecember 16, 2012
great plane for beginers. the counter rotating blades make it easy to fly
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
don't buy right yet
 PostedApril 6, 2011
i bought this plane and it had some awesome reviews on it. i spent a little time researching on forums and looking around, and found that some of the mosquitos out there were having problems with aileron actuators. after my first flight, the plane performed flawlessly, it was beautiful in air and i could definately tell i was going to have an awesome plane! my second flight, the right aileron stuck in the full down position. so my plane turned right circles by itself. i landed it with out damaging it, and did some trouble shooting. found the actuator had failed and after 20 minutes of playing around with it, i decided to center it and just use my left aileron. i was going to order a new one from horizon because i have bought products from them before and never once had a problem. my next, and final, flight i took the plane up on a full battery, and the engines just quit. this was after about 3 minutes of flight. it wasn't out of range and it just fell and shattered the poor aircraft. more trouble shooting revealed a failed brick and the motors wouldn't turn any more. the actuators for the rudder work now and that's it. i love parkzone and i love horizon, as i have said i have purchased many of products from them. i recommend this site to everyone, but not this plane. customer support told me to send it back in to them but i'm currently deployed and don't have the capability to do so. hope this has helped!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NewFish99
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Wooden Wonder - Ultra Micro Wonder!
 PostedMarch 22, 2011
As you can probably tell from the title of the review, I think this one is an absolute WINNER! I have had it for a couple weeks now, and even though it is cold and snowy here I have been getting a LOT of flying in with this little bird and come to truly appreciate just how amazing it is.
First off, it looks just awesome, it is a beauty both sitting on the shelf and in the air. Very nicely finished, great paint job, just a joy. It comes out of the box ready to be bound to your Tx after you charge up the included lipo. My only minor gripe is the lipo comes with the aligator connector charge lead so you need a 12 volt power source to charge this, or your own little ac adapter. (The ac adapter from your Blade mCPX will do the trick, as should the celectra from the Blade mSR if you have those!) That stated, the charger itself is great, more than adequate for these lipos.
Once bound I set up my Spectrum DX6i with high and low rates as recommended but to be perfectly honest, I never use the low rates, this baby is stable.
Take offs are pretty much dead easy, Move the throttle forward, little rudder to keep alignment and within a couple feet it's in the air. Plenty of power from the dual motors to climb quickly out and cruises VERY nicely at around 1/2 to 2/3 throttle. Couple down clicks of trim on the elevator is all mine needed to be rock steady. Loops are no problem, power up, pull out, no issues, though they are more like written 'l"'s than loops! (Hey, it's a ultra micro warbird, not the Beast UMX.) Rolls were easily accomplished on the first flight, just keep your speed up, pull up the nose a bit and flip her around. Good aileron authority, lots of rudder for chandelles, etc., no issues. She looks nicest flying scale with coordinated turns and low 1/2 throttle passes at eye level!
The distinct sound of the twin motors is worth special mention. This thing sounds awesome as it passes by.
Landings are pretty much straight forward, but it is NOT a glider, so don't chop the power. Line it up from 10 feet up, down to 1/4 or a hair less throttle and just fly it down. Little flare and it greeses in. Never had any issues even from the first one.
It does also handle wind pretty well, lots better if it is steady but I have flown in some pretty gusty and unpredictable winds. It's a micro, so when you turn with the wind it can really take it away, but nothing I could not easily control in up to 6-8 mph winds without too much problem.
I have a 5 minute timer on my Tx and in the below freezing temperatures and flying a mix of 1/2 and full throttle I have not hit LVC yet, so the stock lipo has pretty good jump. My advice, get a couple of extra batteries, you are NOT going to be happy with just one, as this baby is way too much fun to fly!
Finally, at $120 I am impressed! You get a twin engine UM, fabulous finish, all in electronics, charger (albiet a cruddy power lead) and lipo! That's just amazing.
Positives
Looks wonderfull, just a beautifull model. VERY scale.
Flys incredibly stable, very easy micro to fly, even in mild winds.
Take offs and landings are a breeze, easiest UM I have for both.
Sounds great.
Price point is amazing for what you are getting.
Negatives
The included charger ONLY comes with aligator clip leads, no option for batteries or AC ...
OVERALL
I would HIGHLY recommend this plane, I absolutely love it. (I seem to be finding that a lot with HH stuff ... sensing a pattern here!) Is it for beginners, probably not. It's more than capable of slow enough flight, but when you go WOT it has some go. Also it's a warbird, a micro for sure, but it does fly just like a larger scale warbird, so if you get it into a bad position it will happily fly that way right into the ground! If you have flow other UM's from Horizon Hobby or 4 channel larger scale birds you will, however, have NO PROBLEM with this one. On the plus side, for a beginner, it's VERY light, so should be pretty crash resistant. (Can't say for sure, as it flys so good I haven't crashed it yet.)
Great plane, well done Parkzone / Horizon Hobby.
Demo Flight of the Parkzone Mosquito
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THX181
Location: Longmont, CO
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 11-20 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great little warbird
 PostedMarch 17, 2011
Opening the box I was impressed. It's a very good looking plane with enough scale details to make it look great in the air. I really like the clear canopy, however it shows off a very bland cockpit. A little black or gray would go a long way in there if the canopy weren't glued down so darn well. At least it won't come off in flight!
I was a disappointed that the wheels didn't spin very well, but a minute of fiddling got them loosened up, at this point I did notice the the wheels hubs were off center buy quite a bit. Oh well, I fly over grass so the gear would be staying in the box anyway.
While charging the included battery I went about programming my DX6i and was a bit disappointed to find no programing suggestions aside from recommended throws. So I started at 70% throw/+50 expo on low and 100 % throw/+20 expo on high.
After installing the battery and removing the main gear I checked the CG against the manuals recommendation of 38mm and found it spot on at the 38mm mark with the battery all the way forward.
So out to the local park for a nice wind-less maiden flight. After a hand launch the plane needed a BUNCH of down trim to keep her on the straight and level. Seriously, at full throttle it wanted to go straight up then over on it's back!!! After dialing in almost full down trim it flew level but wanted to "Balloon" quite badly in every turn. Hmmm, the CG must be way off.
I brought her down to an uneventful belly landing and headed to the workshop to tweak things a bit. I added .05 oz to the extreme nose by way of three screws run into the foam under the battery and hidden by the battery hatch and dialed out all the previous down trim then headed out for another flight.
Another hand launch... and... much better!! Only needing four "Beeps" of down trim and much less ballooning in turns.
In closing, nice looking plane, good quality, lacking instructions and a wicked CG problem.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChicagoFlyer
Location: Chicago, Illinois
I would recommend this to a friend!
UMX Mosquito - Hole in 1
 PostedJanuary 14, 2014
The micro Mosquito is a really great flyer (this experience is ALL inside flying in a golf dome and an indoor track - no outside flying, I use large planes for outdoor), I have several of them. The twin counter rotating engines cancel out the twisting motion that other planes exhibit which makes it easier to fly. Since the engine/prop is not on the nose, the plane can crash a bit more often without causing major damage to the engine, mounts or props (I have crashed a lot and have yet to break a prop or engine).
It is a gentle flyer, my son spent only 4 nights on a Champ, getting as good as doing loops. He decided to try my Polecat and pretty much could not keep it up in the air for more then a few seconds before crashing and went back to the Champ. After watching his flight skills, I told him to try the micro Mosquito and he took to it instantly. So if you are moving up to the dreaded ailerons in a micro (in the big planes for outdoors 100% you want an Apprentice with SAFE), my experience has been this is a great plane to move up to after the Champ. Throttle up and it climbs like crazy at amazingly steep angles, run it at half throttle for steady cruising with scale like climbs and turns. It's fun to watch it fly by you 10 feet out (when your skills are enough to control it that is!). Very cool look and sound, you can imagine flying the real thing! It does not get better then that.
The plane does stall easily landing, do NOT cut the power off and glide in, come in under power (1/8 throttle will do it) and cut the power when the wheels touch down. When it does stall or if you hit something on the ground, the plane tends to flip and bend the rudder. You can usually tape it back straight. In hard crashes (when you are learning, I have not crashed in weeks now that I "got it") the body can crack at the rear of the main wings. This is EASY to fix, I have glued my first Mosquito countless times. The main wings can be glues and taped many times - I have extra wing sets but have never used them. The engine mounts (you will eventually break the foam nacelles that hold them in place) can be glued, glued, glued and glues some more. I have never replaced mine even though I have spares (which would take some work to replace because you have a servo and engine mount inside them which would require some epoxy and routing of wires - just glue them back together).
The weak area of the plane (like most of the micro series) is the ultra thin foam rudder and tail. I run a very thin ridge of foam safe CA around the edge of the both (there is a little ridge at the ends from the mold) to add some strength - a tip I got in a Chinese plane forum from a design engineer. In any case, the rear of the plane is the toughest to repair. If you are not an expert level repair person, make a new friend that is good at plane repair as rudder and tail replacement required cutting, patience and being so, so, so careful not to damage super delicate parts. It would be much nicer if Horizon designed an entire tail assembly for $30 or so that you could just cut off and replace vs the small parts and delicate parts you have to try to put the plane back in flying shape. On that note, try using tape first and glue second to fix the elevator or rudder, replacement should be your last option. The plane will fly with countless repairs. It might not want to do loops any more because of the added weight of all the glue and tape, but then again, if you are into loops and rolls, go get a Polecat or other high performance flyer (which means staying on your toes to fly them too! - I still can't keep a Polecat in the air for a full battery, you have to be at the top of your game to stay on top of a lighter and faster plane like that).
All this might sound like this plane is difficult, but that is exactly the opposite. My first one that I learned on and crashed at least 22 times still flies great! I did finally replace the tail and rudder on it, but the rest is still going strong with probably an once of glue (that would be a lot!) holding it together. Even though I have newer ones that have never been crashed, I take my first one out every time I fly to see if it will be the last flight before I finally put a new body and wings on it.
As for my kid, he flew a brand new one into a flag pole at full throttle (photo attached) impaling the plane on the pole (went right through the wing - he was going pretty fast), hiked the 300 feet out to get it off the pole, brought it back and flew it again without even repairing it (I am doing that tonight which is what prompted me to finally write a report on this very tough and fun plane!).
See attached pic. Get this plane, its great!
User submitted photo
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Milesius
Location: Adams, MA
I would recommend this to a friend!
Nice little plane but don't crash it.
 PostedDecember 29, 2013
Looks good and a blast to fly. It is a bit delicate though and a crash will cost you (relative to the cost of a new one and given what you are buying). The little foam spinners cost $9 to replace and replacement tail feathers cost $10. Keep in mind this is literally a couple cents worth of materials and the packaging probably costs more than the part! I find this to be the case with most foamies which is why I don't typically buy them but if you are a decent pilot and can keep it in one piece go and get one as the initial purchase price is not bad.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gottrocks62
Location: Rockford, IL
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Great Looks- Average Value
 PostedJanuary 17, 2013
The micro mosquito has all the right ingredients to be a hit, great looks, scale outlines, 2 rotating props, how cool is that? I found the airplane to be fairly easy to control but the supplied battery did not have enough weight up front for proper balance. I also found the flight times to be less than desired with my particular model. This was easily rectified with a slightly larger battery (note- battery is not the standard micro size as the other planes- it is bigger). What I found most frustrating is that the model will not take much when it comes to the inevitable bad landing. The vertical stabilizer in particular likes to break very easily if you flip the plane. Repairs are fairly easy and straightforward, but with a little glue and tape, your CG tends to get out of whack and you quickly have a model with poor flying characteristics. I would save this plane for EXTREMELY calm conditions or indoor flying in a large venue. If you do not have these types of conditions to fly this plane in, I would pass on the opportunity to buy this plane.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EpicFlyGuy
Location: Ontario
I would recommend this to a friend!
Best first twin
 PostedJanuary 11, 2013
This aircraft is not just a beautiful plane to look at the flight performance is just amazing. It sounds really cool and its one of the best ultra micros. I love the detail in the paint scheme I looked at a picture of the real one and its almost identical thank you Horizon Hobby for another wonderful airplane.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlBens
Location: Staten island, New york
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 25-34
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great plane!!
 PostedFebruary 14, 2012
This is one fun um plane love the twin motors, I am just getting into planes after flying helicopters, and what a blast of fun hh keep it up great work!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MossyFPV
I would recommend this to a friend!
good trainer for FPV
 PostedDecember 1, 2011
Nice to have this plane as an option for FPV now. Since it is twin engined there is no propeller in front of the camera messing up the view. It also has a bit more oomph for carrying micro camera gear than other micros, and a large wing for floating along at a moderate speed and smooth motion. It is not a true 'floater' like a Cub, however. With the oval wing it can tip stall easily, and requires full attention to keep it level and avoid yaw when banking. I run the throws choked down to 25%, with 25% expo also, plus a switch for rudder/aileron mix (helps banking) - this makes it change direction slowly which really helps with the video piloting - makes it feel like a much larger smoother plane. But still it is only relaxing and enjoyable with winds under 5kph. Someone else mentioned they found it harder to fly than a Polecat - well I have a Polecat also, and find it harder to fly than this plane by quite a margin.
I didn't even try flying it by line of sight. 4 flights now, all with video goggles on. I mounted a camera kit from fpv hobby dot com which weighs 3 grams plus an extra 160mah 1s e flite battery just for the video. Plane was still a little tail heavy, so maybe up the airplane battery to 300 mah. Real nice to have a BNF plane balanced and ready to go like Parkzone is known for. Having one ideal for FPV is the icing on the cake. Still haven't even touched the trims!
The only downside is that this plane is very prone to damage. If you just graze the elevator on your shirt like I did, it snaps off. 2 nose overs upon landing resulted in the rudder/fin snapped off. Luckily that is it. Land it in tall grass and it fares much better. It just isn't worry free like the PZ Cub which just flies and flies and never gets hurt, it seems. I do not have any surface smooth enough for take off and landing with the gear, but I fly with the gear in place to protect my FPV antenna upon landing (pokes straight down from the belly). Can view fpv video of this plane on you tube at sross148 channel. cheers!
first fpv video of my Mosquito
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hyperpilot
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Length of time in hobby: 11-20 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Unique and fun to fly!
 PostedAugust 26, 2011
The Ultra Micro Mosquito is a great little plane. The sound of the twin motors as you do a low pass is pretty cool. Definitely not overpowered this plane has enough power for normal scale flying and looks very realistic in the air. I really like the couner rotating props! I did mark down a point for quality as one of the wheels was stuck and caused ground handling to suffer. Overall it's a pretty neat little plane and I would recommend it to anyone wanting a scale micro twin! I'd like to see an Aero Commander next!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrGman
Location: Cedar Rapids Iowa
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 55-64
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
beautiful but mediocre at best
 PostedAugust 24, 2011
Yes this plane is beautiful. The attention to detail makes it very desirable. However its performance is mediocre at best. I was very disappointed in this aircraft. I don't understand how others are saying they get 7 minutes on a battery. First off with 3 brand new batteries I was getting 2 to 3 minutes and the engines would cut out. After a couple of charges I would be lucky to get 30 seconds to a minute. I am no fan of E-Flites batteries at all. The other major problem was that I could only get around 50 to 60 feet using the micro controller that came with the UM T28 Trojan. I have flown several aircraft with this controller over 200 to 300 feet with no problems but this plane literally was cutting out when I walked 25 paces away from the controller, with the engines running at half power. I borrowed a friend's 5XE series controller and that problem went away but still in order to get serious flight times I had to step up to a 500mAH battery. Yes this plane handles a bit of wind and flies stable but I would not say it has plenty of power. It cannot pull itself up into a loop. I have to throw it into a dive to build airspeed to get it through a loop. It is otherwise a stable performer.
Because of the controller issues I smacked this thing into the ground hard several times before I switched controllers. Broke the fuselage and banged up the nose and engine nacelles, but was able to fix everything with CA glue or hot melt glue.
I would say that this would have been a much better performer if it was designed to run with 2 micro brushless motors and a 7.4V system like in the UMX Beast. It really needs more power to perform. The receiver is either weaker than normal or the twin motors interfere with its performance. I was told no by customer support but a receiver that cuts out and loses all control within 50 to 60 feet (25 of my steps) is pretty bad.
This is my 5th ultra micro aircraft from HH. I was really hoping for something better.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Busman2949
Location: Florida
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 21-29 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Ultra Micro Mosquito
 PostedJune 22, 2011
Commig from the world of Helicopters I discovered Electric Airplanes and what a Blast.
Your Electric line simply amazes me in how you can build such quality into every product I have purchased from you and at a very reasonable price.
This twin engin Mosquito is really a blast and easy to fly with very minimal triming needed.
I fly it with a DX5E.
Great Job Horizon Hobbys
The Bus Man
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aisle14
Location: Panama, Republic of Panama
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Another Defective Product!
 PostedJune 8, 2011
This is the second time I get a defective ultra micro from Horizon Hobby (HH). It took less than five minutes to find out the product was defective. Does HH check to make sure a product is not defective BEFORE shipping it out? I bought a Corsair, last month, and it was also defective. Both models have problems with the ailerons getting stuck and/or moving out of control. The Corsair had an aileron that would not return to the neutral position. The Mosquito has an aileron that moves by itself in an uncontrolled manner. I tried fixing the Corsair myself, but to this day the model flies poorly at best once the ailerons begin to act up. This time, I am not even going to bother trying to fly the model - it´s just too frustrating. Because I live in another country, returning the product cost well over $300.00. I do not think I will be buying anymore ultra micros from HH. If you plan to buy this product, make sure you can test it, in the store, before you take it home. Obviesly, for overseas customers, that is not an option.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Microman
Location: Hawaii
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Best Ultra Micro Ever Made!!!
 PostedMarch 6, 2011
Just got my 1st flight in this morning on this baby and i got to say... i have never hade a smoother flight with any other UM plane! Flew true and straight right out of the box with a stock battery. Very easy to control and easy to land. I also tried it with the E-flite 500mAh battery from the Blade 120 SR Heli (EFLB5001S) and it flew even better with twice the flight time (20min)!!! Excellent Job guys.
P.S. This plane is so easy to fly it should be in the Beginner class.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI BNF
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Antonio
Location: Venezuela, Maracay
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Daily
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 35-44
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Manufacturing Defect
 PostedJanuary 9, 2012
I bought 2 Mosquito MK VI and both with defects, have engine failure after 4 minutes of use. In one of them I've changed both engines and the problem continues, it seems the problem is with the electronics. I bought other models like the ParkZone P-51D Mustang, Corsair and I haven´t had any problems.
I have Horizon Hobby informed of the problem, but it is very expensive to return it because I live in another country
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>