Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Spektrum AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver

AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Average Customer Rating:
4.963 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 27(100%)customers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Review 1 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bobjob1963
Location: Pittsfield,Mass.
I would recommend this to a friend!
ar400 RX.
 PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Very small n light,has very good range,I got well over 3/4 miles out and didn't experience any detectable signal loss,this RX doesnt record holds like my 6115 or 6210 rx does so I say detectable,those RX record them and I wish this RX did.otherwise nice cheap RX.remember this ar400 does not have a red light to record loss of signal.
Review 2 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spbyrum
I would recommend this to a friend!
AR400 as replacement for Brand X
 PostedSeptember 1, 2014
AR400 provided excellent range and compact size in a tight glider fuselage. I'd tried an off-brand receiver, but could not get the range necessary, so I did the right thing. Value?? $29.95 is just great.
Review 3 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NickC172
Location: USA
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great receiver!
 PostedAugust 25, 2014
A very nice receiver. I'm using it in a wooden motorglider I'm using, and it's an excellent receiver. It's too bad that it won't work with the Spektrum DX6, a transmitter I'm hoping to get, but that's only a minor detail. It fits in the glider quite well and connection to my ESC and servos was no problem. My only complaint is that the space to plug in servos is a little small and I occasionally have trouble getting servo plugs in and out. Binding was just as easy as it is with all of the other Spektrum receivers I use. It's a great receiver and its compact size means it will fit in a wide range of aircraft. I love it!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mill1000
 
Please wait while more information about mill1000 is loaded.
Additional information about mill1000 could not be loaded.
Posted October 29, 2014
HI. Just wanted to let you know that this receiver will work with the latest generation DX6 (SPM6700). The DX6 mentioned in this statement "The AR400 receiver is not compatible with the DX6 park flyer radio system." is referencing the original DX6 (SPM2460) system, one of Spektrum's first generation products.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OldDave
Location: Benson, AZ
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great Receiver for the Money
 PostedAugust 23, 2014
A great number of today's airplanes require only four channels plus due to space considerations size matters. This receiver meets those needs. Because it is a full range receiver, it can be used in any application that needs four channels.
I have four of these in airplanes from a 60 size Ugly Stik down to a Parkzone T-28. It performs flawlessly in all instances.
The AR400 does the job and is competively priced. Spektrum has produced another winner.
Review 5 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
phildo2008
Location: Arizona
I would recommend this to a friend!
value
 PostedAugust 16, 2014
best bang for the buck, I have several, us them in all my park flyers.
Review 6 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gordiemaur
Location: Mid Michigan
I would recommend this to a friend!
top of the line 4-channl receiver
 PostedAugust 1, 2014
You can't beat the quality of a topnotch product like the AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver from Horizon. Easy replacement for your foamy, lighter and much better quality than the one that comes with your RTF and ARF foamy .
Review 7 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
YoungRetiree
Location: Florida
I would recommend this to a friend!
You can't beat it!
 PostedJuly 23, 2014
I wanted to upgraded a couple of old 72 receivers to my 2.4 system so I tried the AR400 and am very satisfied with the results. You can't beat the sale price for a small 4 channel receiver used in sport flying.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RCshoper
Location: Colorado Springs/Fountain, CO
I would recommend this to a friend!
AR400 DSMX little marvel
 PostedJuly 11, 2014
being cash strapped for a little while, I had been happy with my DSM2 systems for the longest time. But then I had a couple of crashes where the rx wasn't binding after inspecting the remains of my planes, suspecting reception issues I ended up buying a 6ch Tx with DSMX technology. Still once in a while I had to re-bind before flying, so out of precaution I ended up buying the AR400 "just to check it out". I'm so happy I made the move; no binding issues thereafter. The little receiver is really small enough as to fit in some of my "micro" projects, and light enough for them. Encasing it in hard plastic was a good thing to do for the most venturous RC modeler out there like me #I'm a crash-builder#...
User submitted photo
Review 9 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shepflyr
Location: Charleston, SC
I would recommend this to a friend!
Excellent little full range receiver!
 PostedJune 28, 2014
I recently upgraded to the DX9 transmitter, which is a fantastic tx and a great upgrade from my beloved old DX7. However, I had 3 older airplanes equipped with the Spektrum AR6000 receivers which are not compatible with the DX9.
I installed AR400s in my old parkflyers T-28, Typhoon 2, and Super Decathlon and they work GREAT...which means this receiver will handle a wide range of flight envelopes and do very well. If 4 channels are all that's required, this is an excellent value receiver!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MadDogHawaii
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
I would recommend this to a friend!
AR400 Amazing little package & excellent price!
 PostedMay 17, 2014
Perfect for the price & works A-OK! Put one in my VisionAire & like it so much I'll purchase another for my FMS SBach 342
Carbon Z Cub on Tidal Pools Makapuu Hawaii
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sather
Location: Arkansas
I would recommend this to a friend!
good value
 PostedMay 16, 2014
Used several of these and not had any problems. Use them in prop and EDF planes and no problems so far. Two more channels sure would be nice if you could keep the price close!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
USMCflyer
I would recommend this to a friend!
newbie review
 PostedMay 16, 2014
For the price and 4 channel use we are using this for it has been faultless. Easy to bind, small, lightweight, and reliable.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Freesprt30
Location: Yuma
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great quality and Value
 PostedMay 12, 2014
This was the first 4 channel receiver I have ever purchased. I needed something for small a EP 3d plane. This is a great receiver, had no problems getting it to work with my 6i tranmitter. If you need a good 4 channel receiver you cannot beat the quality and value of this one.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZigAir
Location: Guymon, OK
I would recommend this to a friend!
AR400
 PostedMay 9, 2014
Good secure inexpensive full range sport receiver from Spektrum.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RobertL
Location: Indianapolis, IN
I would recommend this to a friend!
Spektrum radio systems
 PostedMay 9, 2014
I have spectrum receivers in all 24 of my RC airplanes and have NEVER had a problem.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dougster
Location: ohio
I would recommend this to a friend!
 PostedJune 11, 2013
great little receiver, compact and easy to find a place to install. i have four of these and they have been problem free. at a current price of $29.00 you can not go wrong
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TomM
Location: NE Ohio
I would recommend this to a friend!
Good RX, Good Price
 PostedFebruary 26, 2013
I have been using this little guy in glow and electric aircraft since it became available. Small, light and reliable. Enough Said
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SAMBobG
I would recommend this to a friend!
Spektrum Micro RX Full range
 PostedFebruary 25, 2013
These are full range, super light weight and ideal for SAM 3 or 4 channel old timers.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
phoenix3102
Location: Concord, NC
I would recommend this to a friend!
A good Rx at a good price
 PostedFebruary 25, 2013
This is an excellent Rx for beginners who only need 4 channels. It's also very compact for a full range Rx. I just put one in an 800mm F4U and it fits perfectly.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MikeatCaneRidge
Location: Nashville, TN
I would recommend this to a friend!
I have four of these and counting...
 PostedNovember 23, 2012
I've been using them for several months with no problems whatsoever. I have them in a pair of Club 40 racers, a TwinStar, and a four channel 60 size P-51. According to the reception statistics from telemetry (yes, they work with the TM1000 very well -- you have to use a Y-cable to supply power), they have no problems out to 1,200 - 1,500 feet, which is about as far out as I fly because a 50 - 60 inch wing is getting getting tough to see at that point.
I usually see a loss of one frame in 10 minutes when I'm flying 1,200 - 1,500 feet out. I've seen virtually no one else go out that far (the old-timers think I'm crazy), so most people would never see any hint of a reception problem, especially if the antennas are placed perfectly or close to it (make sure the antennas are fully in the open, that is, not right next to the battery or jammed into a bunch of wires).
They verifyably do 11 millisecond frame rates to boot. So yep, these things the best thing out there for low channel count planes, hands down.
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>