Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Spektrum AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver

AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23(100%)customers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer Reviews for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Review 1 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OldDave
Location: Benson, AZ
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great Receiver for the Money
 PostedAugust 23, 2014
A great number of today's airplanes require only four channels plus due to space considerations size matters. This receiver meets those needs. Because it is a full range receiver, it can be used in any application that needs four channels.
I have four of these in airplanes from a 60 size Ugly Stik down to a Parkzone T-28. It performs flawlessly in all instances.
The AR400 does the job and is competively priced. Spektrum has produced another winner.
Review 2 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
phildo2008
Location: Arizona
I would recommend this to a friend!
value
 PostedAugust 16, 2014
best bang for the buck, I have several, us them in all my park flyers.
Review 3 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gordiemaur
Location: Mid Michigan
I would recommend this to a friend!
top of the line 4-channl receiver
 PostedAugust 1, 2014
You can't beat the quality of a topnotch product like the AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver from Horizon. Easy replacement for your foamy, lighter and much better quality than the one that comes with your RTF and ARF foamy .
Review 4 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
YoungRetiree
Location: Florida
I would recommend this to a friend!
You can't beat it!
 PostedJuly 23, 2014
I wanted to upgraded a couple of old 72 receivers to my 2.4 system so I tried the AR400 and am very satisfied with the results. You can't beat the sale price for a small 4 channel receiver used in sport flying.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RCshoper
Location: Colorado Springs/Fountain, CO
I would recommend this to a friend!
AR400 DSMX little marvel
 PostedJuly 11, 2014
being cash strapped for a little while, I had been happy with my DSM2 systems for the longest time. But then I had a couple of crashes where the rx wasn't binding after inspecting the remains of my planes, suspecting reception issues I ended up buying a 6ch Tx with DSMX technology. Still once in a while I had to re-bind before flying, so out of precaution I ended up buying the AR400 "just to check it out". I'm so happy I made the move; no binding issues thereafter. The little receiver is really small enough as to fit in some of my "micro" projects, and light enough for them. Encasing it in hard plastic was a good thing to do for the most venturous RC modeler out there like me #I'm a crash-builder#...
User submitted photo
Review 6 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shepflyr
Location: Charleston, SC
I would recommend this to a friend!
Excellent little full range receiver!
 PostedJune 28, 2014
I recently upgraded to the DX9 transmitter, which is a fantastic tx and a great upgrade from my beloved old DX7. However, I had 3 older airplanes equipped with the Spektrum AR6000 receivers which are not compatible with the DX9.
I installed AR400s in my old parkflyers T-28, Typhoon 2, and Super Decathlon and they work GREAT...which means this receiver will handle a wide range of flight envelopes and do very well. If 4 channels are all that's required, this is an excellent value receiver!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MadDogHawaii
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
I would recommend this to a friend!
AR400 Amazing little package & excellent price!
 PostedMay 17, 2014
Perfect for the price & works A-OK! Put one in my VisionAire & like it so much I'll purchase another for my FMS SBach 342
Carbon Z Cub on Tidal Pools Makapuu Hawaii
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sather
Location: Arkansas
I would recommend this to a friend!
good value
 PostedMay 16, 2014
Used several of these and not had any problems. Use them in prop and EDF planes and no problems so far. Two more channels sure would be nice if you could keep the price close!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
USMCflyer
I would recommend this to a friend!
newbie review
 PostedMay 16, 2014
For the price and 4 channel use we are using this for it has been faultless. Easy to bind, small, lightweight, and reliable.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Freesprt30
Location: Yuma
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great quality and Value
 PostedMay 12, 2014
This was the first 4 channel receiver I have ever purchased. I needed something for small a EP 3d plane. This is a great receiver, had no problems getting it to work with my 6i tranmitter. If you need a good 4 channel receiver you cannot beat the quality and value of this one.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZigAir
Location: Guymon, OK
I would recommend this to a friend!
AR400
 PostedMay 9, 2014
Good secure inexpensive full range sport receiver from Spektrum.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RobertL
Location: Indianapolis, IN
I would recommend this to a friend!
Spektrum radio systems
 PostedMay 9, 2014
I have spectrum receivers in all 24 of my RC airplanes and have NEVER had a problem.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dougster
Location: ohio
I would recommend this to a friend!
 PostedJune 11, 2013
great little receiver, compact and easy to find a place to install. i have four of these and they have been problem free. at a current price of $29.00 you can not go wrong
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TomM
Location: NE Ohio
I would recommend this to a friend!
Good RX, Good Price
 PostedFebruary 26, 2013
I have been using this little guy in glow and electric aircraft since it became available. Small, light and reliable. Enough Said
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SAMBobG
I would recommend this to a friend!
Spektrum Micro RX Full range
 PostedFebruary 25, 2013
These are full range, super light weight and ideal for SAM 3 or 4 channel old timers.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
phoenix3102
Location: Concord, NC
I would recommend this to a friend!
A good Rx at a good price
 PostedFebruary 25, 2013
This is an excellent Rx for beginners who only need 4 channels. It's also very compact for a full range Rx. I just put one in an 800mm F4U and it fits perfectly.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MikeatCaneRidge
Location: Nashville, TN
I would recommend this to a friend!
I have four of these and counting...
 PostedNovember 23, 2012
I've been using them for several months with no problems whatsoever. I have them in a pair of Club 40 racers, a TwinStar, and a four channel 60 size P-51. According to the reception statistics from telemetry (yes, they work with the TM1000 very well -- you have to use a Y-cable to supply power), they have no problems out to 1,200 - 1,500 feet, which is about as far out as I fly because a 50 - 60 inch wing is getting getting tough to see at that point.
I usually see a loss of one frame in 10 minutes when I'm flying 1,200 - 1,500 feet out. I've seen virtually no one else go out that far (the old-timers think I'm crazy), so most people would never see any hint of a reception problem, especially if the antennas are placed perfectly or close to it (make sure the antennas are fully in the open, that is, not right next to the battery or jammed into a bunch of wires).
They verifyably do 11 millisecond frame rates to boot. So yep, these things the best thing out there for low channel count planes, hands down.
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ETPDave
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
I would recommend this to a friend!
Purchased 2 AR400 - Now working great
 PostedJuly 25, 2012
I purchased 2 of these to convert planes from 72MHz to 2.4GHz. They are now both working perfectly. Both are in electric powered airplanes. One worked fine right from the start with no issues. The other was a big challenge but after some problems and some careful testing is now working very well. Here is the story:
The AR400 I installed in an Extra 400 equipped with a Turnigy Plush 40 Amp ESC and HKSCM12-6 and HKSCM16-6 digital servos would ocassionally glitch badly with the servos running very quickly to full throw and then back to the stick setting. Two call to product support led to the conclusion that something was likely wrong with the receiver. As a retired electronics design engineer I dug out my trusty digital storage scope and looked at the +5V from the BEC in the ESC and the aileron servo signal. I noted large glitches on the +5V when the digital servos ran. Getting all 4 (2 aileron, elevator and rudder) running at the same time and sometimes the the receiver quit for a fraction of a second. (Likely the processor in the receiver was resetting as a result of the voltage glitches. So I tried the system on a separate receiver battery. No problems. Then I tried 2 different ESC. No problems. And the glitches on the +5V were greatly reduced. So the problem was with theBEC in ESC. (One of the good ESCs a later version of Turnigy Plush 40 Amp.)
So the real problem was a poor/defective ESC that allowed unacceptable glithces produced by fast digital servos on the +5V that powers the receiver and digital servos.
I have flowm the plane for about a year with the same ESC and a 72MHz receiver. Everything seemed to be wortking fine but the plane was always touchy and even with 70% expo on the ailerons it was difficult to do precise rolls. This morning, with the good ESC, the plane flew better than it ever has before. The AR400 receiver is rock solid and control is very precise.
This afternoon I went back and looked with my scope to see if the voltage glitches from the digital servos were causing any problems with the old 72MHz receiver. The answer was yes. They were causing variations in the control pulses leading to small variations in the servo positions.
Having been through this I would recommend the AR400 and I am going to get a few more to convert the rest of my planes from 72MHz to 2.4GHz. And if I see any issues I and going to try another ESC before questioning the receiver.
28 of 28 found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RGCook
 
Please wait while more information about RGCook is loaded.
Additional information about RGCook could not be loaded.
Posted September 24, 2012
Great review and excellent diligence on your part tracking down the issue with the BEC. It seems to be a reasonable in many cases to install a separate BEC/regulator like one made by Castle Creations - especially on planes that you care a bit about. Those dime a dozen ESC with integral BEC's seem to be a big risk on planes that your really care about. Granted, a low cost foamie - fine, run with it and if it fails, you knew the risk. But to put a cheapo ESC in a plane you love and would hate to lose over a stupid heat-related failure seems to be a bad move.
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mark123456
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 45-54
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
A Smart Move
 PostedJuly 3, 2012
This is a smart move by Spektrum, to make a four-channel receiver with full range capability. This receiver fills a big niche for (serious) parkflyer pilots who insist on top-tier performance and quality. Finally, full range! Finally, just 4 channels! Most of us just want to fly, simple as that, but at a very advanced level, with no unnecessary frills. It's small, light, and with two antennae for good reception. The price is certainly reasonable, as well, at thirty U.S. dollars. It sure beats paying fifty bucks for six channels; two of which you won't be using. Fantastic. Good move, Spektrum.
25 of 25 found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dejavu
 
Please wait while more information about Dejavu is loaded.
Additional information about Dejavu could not be loaded.
Posted February 25, 2013
Perfect review...I was going to write one on this product. But all my thoughts were spoken here. +1
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Ratings-Only Reviews for AR400 4-Channel DSMX Aircraft Receiver
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
Value 
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5