Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Horizon Hobby.

Spektrum AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver

With advanced DSMX® 2.4GHz technology and an affordable price, the Spektrum™ AR600 full-range receiver is a great choice for sport pilots looking for a 6-channel receiver.
Average Customer Rating:
3.951 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
8
31 out of 41(76%)customers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Review 1 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
carabeener
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
JUNK
 PostedApril 27, 2013
I have lost 4 planes now due to this piece of junk receiver. Buy at your own risk, use only in a plane you do not care about.
Review 2 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
mbgreasemonkey
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
poor quality
 PostedFebruary 25, 2013
This the second product that I have bought from horizon hobby that has failed right out of the box. The receiver would bind but lose signal when you move stick for pre-flight check. Fortunately they have good customer service and will fix it.
Review 3 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Goleft
Location: Cape May New Jersey
I would recommend this to a friend!
Range is unreal
 PostedFebruary 14, 2013
I have 9 of these including tAR6115e 6-Channel models (End Pin) which are amazing. This one particular day, I was flying a 14.4 volt Cessna which was all white and blended into the cloudy sky rather well,, when i realized that i had lost orientation of the plane. Instead of coming towards me, it was actually flying away from me. Before i knew it, it was barely visible. By the time I did realized it, I thought it was too late. I honestly couldn't tell you exactly how far the distance was but when a 65" wingspan plane is the size of a small dot, i think I'm pretty far. A turn to the left and some elevator brought it right back to me. My friend next to me was amazed at my eyesight. I was amazed at it too because I really couldn't see it! It was just luck. It wasn't all luck though, this little receiver helped a lot in returning my plane. Never had ant issues with one. Especially that day.
Review 4 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fiddleflyer
Location: Medford, Long Island, NY
I would recommend this to a friend!
Seems to be reliable; does what it supposed to do.
 PostedJuly 31, 2012
I use several of these AR600s and have not had one fail or cause any malfunction. However, I suspect Horizon could charge less and still make hundreds of percent profit!
They are pricey !
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NJ1947
 
Please wait while more information about NJ1947 is loaded.
Additional information about NJ1947 could not be loaded.
Posted February 19, 2013
I agree with the price issue. When you look at the difference between the RTF and the PNP, its the cost of the reciever. I don't get the feeling of savings when I need to buy the PNP and a reciever. It seems that buying the RTF in that case is easier. Now I have not looked at all the plane options, only at trainers for beginners. I can see that over time you may build up a supply of recievers or go to the trouble of moving one from plane to plane, which makes it affordable. I am sure most people would like to install and forget about moving anything.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice
Location: Greentown IN
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Daily
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 25-34
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
AR600
 PostedMarch 6, 2012
I like this product because it is capable of connecting to our old, left over leads. It can go in any airplane too. This was another great buy!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
silvertip2
Location: ZANESVILLE, OHIO
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Age: 65 or over
Length of time in hobby: 21-29 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
outstanding product
 PostedFebruary 9, 2012
THIS IS THE 3RD 6 CHANNEL RECEIVER I HAVE PURCHASED. RANGE AND RELIABILITY ARE VERY GOOD. ALL MY EQUIPMENT IS NOW SPEKTRUM EQUIPPED.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
yerfej
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a year
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 55-64
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
fair product
 PostedFebruary 9, 2012
I've only had the chance to bench test the rx. Everthing seems ok.
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
514Thunderbolt
Location: South Louisiana
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 25-34
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
AR600 DSMX Receiver Does The Job
 PostedNovember 1, 2011
I have this receiver in my Parkzone P-47 and Hobbyzone Super Cub bound to my DX6i and have never experienced any issues as stated in other reviews. Once bound I have never had an issues with binding. I have all six channels loaded up on on the P-47 with flaps and retracts and it works just fine and I push this plane as far as I can see without loosing orentation of the plane and have never lost my signal. I will be purchasing another AR600 for my next PNP park flyer.
User submitted photo
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LookingUp
I would recommend this to a friend!
already have 8 of these
 PostedOctober 30, 2011
Using the AR600 in Apprentice, Electostick, Modified CUB, PKZ Extra 300, 3 modified slow sticks and an electric glider for FPV. Never had a single issue. Using w/ DX6i and can run any of my planes further than I can see them. I've used cheaper tx/rc to include the orange ones but its only Spektrum for me now. AR600 is my rc of choice.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flyrc6553
Location: West Texas
Hobbyist Type: Competitive
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 55-64
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great Park Flyer Receiver
 PostedSeptember 16, 2011
The AR600 DSMX Receiver is another great product in the Spektrum line. The most surprising thing is the range this compact receiver with rather short antennas is capable of.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rcmadnessp51
Location: Maine
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a year
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 45-54
Length of time in hobby: 11-20 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
The perfect Receiver
 PostedSeptember 16, 2011
I recently purchased this receiver, and insalled it in my 1/4 scale Rearwind speedster on floats as an up grade from 72 mhz system, I am using a DX8 transmiter. I definatly noticed a more secure conection to my model (rock solid link) flight log with no fade or holds that is impressive. I also should mension that I had a not so perfect landing do to float failure and swomped it, put the receiver under water for 20 min or so. After repairing the floats and drying out the air frame and electronics, reciever still works perfectly after extensive ground range testing. I have 12 flights on it after going swimming. Good quality, good fun, great value at price, durability is excellant, appearance- well its a receiver.
Nice receiver/ I highly recomend it
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VALIANT
Location: WEST PALM BEACH ,FL
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 65 or over
Length of time in hobby: 30 years or more
I would recommend this to a friend!
AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
 PostedAugust 18, 2011
Well made, great reliability, good response to Tx signal no installation problems!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheGreatGazoo
Location: At the field
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Daily
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Buh bye airplane
 PostedAugust 8, 2011
Lost my plane over the weekend with this receiver on board.. seems to have suffered a temporary blackout... started bouncing and crashed into the ground in a downward oscillation...
The other brand new AR600 I had is already sold.. I will NEVER install one of these in any plane I own again...
If I recall the AR500 had similar cmplaints, but I never suffered one with that receiver...
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Meisjacko
 
Please wait while more information about Meisjacko is loaded.
Additional information about Meisjacko could not be loaded.
Posted January 7, 2013
well, I guess you were unlucky enough to get the one bad ar600, which in my experience has been a pretty bug-free system, except with a bit of trouble binding with my dx7s.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PoweredByOS
Location: Niles, MI
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Daily
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 21-29 years
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Never again
 PostedAugust 7, 2011
I have been flying over 20 years, that said most of it was obviously done on the 72 band. I made the switch to spektrum late last year and converted 10 aircraft over to the technology. I got 3 of these recievers for situations where I thought the smaller size would be an advantage. I shouldn't have. I have had problems with all 3 ar600s. the other recievers have had no problems, but two of the planes with these recievers were total losses, the third is not going to get the oppertunity. Lost a pica dualist and a four star forty.
User submitted photo
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
zifnab
Location: Plano Tx
Hobbyist Type: Recreational
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Fly away
 PostedJuly 11, 2011
somewhere over 35-40 flights with this plane, I noticed the plane bounce, so I turned to start my down leg approach, but my plane continued straight and level as I watched it disappear past the tree line and into the lake (I had just charged my battery and checked it with your (RPM/battery voltage tester)
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gazzazh
Location: NY
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Don't Buy
 PostedMay 25, 2011
I got this Rx with my Carbon Z yak, on the on the second flight i lost the signal twice and almost crashed. Don't buy this Rx.. and lose your expensive model, just spend a little more and either get the 6210 or the 7000... I'd rather spend more than lose a model. I have contacted HH about my problem with the carbon Z and will wait for their response.. will not fly this model again with this receiver.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
santino
Location: Glen Ellyn IL
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
great reciever
 PostedApril 18, 2011
Works great, excelent range, easy to install and set up. what else is there to say
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Varley
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a month
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: Over 55
Length of time in hobby: 11-20 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Spektrum AR600
 PostedMarch 17, 2011
Wonderful product for the money. Very nice having the extra channel over the AR500
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Location: miami, fl
Hobbyist Type: Intermediate
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Airplanes
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 1-3 years
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
poor quality, don't use it
 PostedMarch 17, 2011
i starting using spectrum and after a 2dn fly i save my plane for a crach.
i will not recomend this tx ever
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AR600 6-Channel Sport DSMX Receiver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fuzzy724
Hobbyist Type: Advanced
Frequency of Use: Several times a week
Hobby use: RC Helicopters
Age: 30-45
Length of time in hobby: 4-10 years
I would recommend this to a friend!
Converting all My aircraft
 PostedMarch 7, 2011
I was a Futaba user for many years but now that this new DSM technology has changed my mind. I love the simple binding and the relaibility. I have everything from the 5 channel sports to the 9 channel heli rx's and love them all. I have made it my mission that my whole hanger of about 22 aircraft will be all DSM technology. Its just that good. Yeah the futaba fasst sytem I am sure is ok. However have you seen the price? Its just way overpriced. This is not a budgeted value either but it is much more user friendlly unit. All 2.4 systems are priced high this is middle of the road i guess. Oh dont be fooled by the clones out there. I was and it cost me a plane. I tried one of the knock offs and it fried after a few flights. Sure this is a little overpriced but it works.
What I love about this reciever is it is a full 6 channels with an aux channel. So the took the 500 and just made it that much better and didnt jack up the price. Plus it delivers rock solid performance. It is just an awsome product. You wont be dissapointed at all.
I have a FUtaba 9c which I love but just changed the module to 2.4 so I dont have to reprogram. Just bind a reciever and fly. Yes Its that simple. No more radio interference no worries about channels just power on and go. Sure I would love to upgrade to a new Radio but who wants to reprogram 22 planes and a few helis. They made it easy to just pop out the old rx and pop in a new one without giving up a day or 2 to do it. Now I can use the radio I have and just fly with confidence.
User submitted photo
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>