Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Team Losi Racing 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR

110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Average Customer Rating:
4.118 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
15 out of 17(88%)customers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Review 1 for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
RCAntics
Location: Simi Valley, CA
I would recommend this to a friend!
Needs to be Exorcised!
 PostedJune 13, 2013
The TLR Ten SCT is no beginner's truck, that's for sure. Luckily, I catch on quick, I have about 2 years experience with electric and this was my first nitro, and I will say, when its running right, its fun as heck! But here are a few things I learned the hard way that you should know before purchasing:
1. tighten all screws and threat lock your engine mounting screws before running or breaking in! all metal on metal screws need to be thread locked on any RC vehicle before running or you will risk breaking or damaging parts!
2. Tuning, I am new to tuning Nitro, as I said this is my first Nitro RC, but I am getting the hang of it, but make sure you get a trained professional to help you tune if you dont know much like me. I went to the track and had a person with "nitro experience" help me tune it, he tuned it WAY too lean and I burned out my glow plug and glow plug o-ring, luckily these come with new glow plugs so no biggie, but it COULD HAVE blown the motor! and I am sure it caused some premature wear, so I will probably have to do a rebuild sooner than expected down the road, so rule number one with tuning: Rich is better than Lean! Run her rich! then SLOWLY lean her out, go quarter turns at a time to dial her in and you will be golden.
Best Tune: leave the bottom end needle at 2 and 1/2 turns (stock) maybe a tad richer, but max 1 turn over stock and the high speed needle with Vary with weather changes, but keep it ABOVE THE STOCK SETTING, THE STOCK SETTING IS TOO LEAN AND WILL BURN OUT THE ENGINE!!!! As for the idle screw, I am still dialing that in at this moment.
3. PULL START CONVERSION!!!!! The Losi 810 uses the same motor as this truck, buy a pull starter from it and a glow plug ignitor, and trash the ROSS immediately! it is unreliable, heavy, draws too much power from the battery, and comes unhooked frequently from the power leads, JUST TRASH IT!!! IT IS THE BIGGEST PROBLEM WITH THIS TRUCK!!!
Thats all there is to it! get a pull start, get help with tuning, and break in the engine right, I recomment doing steps 1 and 3 before running the truck for the first time, right out of the box, ditch the ROSS, thread lock the metal on metal screws and engine mounting screws, break in the engine, tune the engine, and have fun! IN THAT ORDER!
Once the demons are exorcised from this baby, shes a sweetheart and will reward her owner with many hours of fun driving.
Good Day!
Patrick -RC Antics-
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
New2RC
Location: Great Falls,Montana
I would recommend this to a friend!
 PostedJanuary 23, 2013
First off Let me say I am new to the R/C hobby and I recieved this truck as my first nitro.
Here are my thoughts being new to Nitros: Out of the box, I could not get the truck to start with the ROSS, Then after trying 10 or so times and going through 2 battery packs trying, I got it started The truck took off on full throttle into my yard without me even toutching the trottle, and the spurr gear stripped.
The positives: HORIZON PRODUCT SUPORT IS EXCELENT! I called Horizon Hobby on a Sunday and the product suport guy was very helpful and knew this product very well, within 10 minutes of talking to him I had a new spur gear, new glow plug and new ROSS electronics (he said just in case) on their way to me free of charge. Once I recieved them, I repalced the glow plug, and the spurr gear, and adjusted the carb opening. Prievious comments about the tools comming with the RTR kit being about usless are accurate, Buy yourself some quality tools, I bought the Losi 17 in 1 tool kit, a tuning screwdriver and a glow plug wrench and I have had everything I needed to do the work i've done so far on my truck. Anyway, I took the truck out and it fired up on the second try, not bad for it being 20 degrees outside. I habe run about 8 tanks through it with no more significant problems.
Bottom line, this is a hobby, I expected to have to work on my truck a bit, but it was a bit dissapointing that it had problems right out of the box. Horizon hobby's exceptional product support more than satisfied me with their service, and no questions asked replacement parts. This truck is awesome! it's fast it handles great (even for a new guy still learning to tune it and drive it) it does seem to be built well and with mostly quality parts, aside from the initial hicups, I would reccomend this kit to anyone looking for a excelent Nitro vehicle to bash or race,
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Jared1972
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My worst experience with Losi
 PostedMay 5, 2013
Nice looking truck is about where the complementary part of this review ends. I am not a serious racer but I do like to attend and race in the local races. So I did not feel like spending the extra money to buy the race roller, now I just wish I could return the truck for something different. As with several other reviews that I read the spur gear went out on the first tank of fuel. I realize that this is a cheaper version of the race roller, but it should still have a steel spur gear for a nitro engine. So then I looked online to see if I can find a metal replacement for it and there is not one available. Next I thought I would try the diff from my 8ight-T and I thought maybe that differential would work in this truck, but even though the chassis are almost identical they changed it just enough to where you cannot use the 8ight-T or the eight buggies differential in this truck. So until Losi decides to pull their heads out of their rear ends and make a metal Spur gear for the center diff in this truck I'm rating this a one because I have never had a truck break something on the first tank of fuel. Oh One other quick thing please if you're not going to put a decent steering servo in then let me make the choice of spending a little bit extra money on a decent steering servo, you don't put a steering servo in this size truck with plastic servo gears.
User submitted photo
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jared1972
 
Please wait while more information about Jared1972 is loaded.
Additional information about Jared1972 could not be loaded.
Posted July 28, 2013
I would like to update my review on the 10 SCT. After having some initial problems and trying to sell the truck with no luck, I decided to put some updates in the truck once I figured out what parts I needed to update in the changes I need to make. If you buy this truck do as others say and Loctite all metal on metal screws and all screws in general. One thing I would recommend doing immediately is upgrading the clutch that they use for the 10 T the 10th scale version of the truggy It is also the same clutch used in the 810 buggy. I also made a few more updates I got rid of the remote onboard starting system so I could use my bump start instead. I would also still recommend even though I have not but I would recommend getting a new steering servo it's weak at best. The fiction behind ready to run's is there not truly ready to run almost all of them need some kind of adjustment, something when you get them home. After finally getting it to run without stripping gears and adjusting the steering servo from using a computer radio. I would change my recommendation about this truck to "buy" now but only if you're already an experience driver and you're looking for something you don't mind working with to get it RTR.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mokey
Location: Texas
I would recommend this to a friend!
Not for beginners
 PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Although this is a "RTR" kit, it is more like, "heres what you "could" use but there is way better stuff out there"..."kit"...
The charger is junk, the hex wrenches that come with it are not the right size and are just painted metal, and the clutch spring is way too light youll just stall...BUT ITS STILL AWESOME!! i guess they figured it was a good starter but whoever bought this would want to get the better tools and charger anyways. The clutch spring thing is very weird...it feels and looks fine but acts like a bad clutch spring, we replaced it with one for a traxxas 3.3, runs like a champ. It will save your spur gears
Even though the ROSS has a built in glow plug heater i recommend while breaking in to still use a handheld one during first start, the ROSS needs to be broken in as well. Itll save you ALOT of battery life. Even though the manual says it doesnt need to be broken in, a gallon break in will NEVER hurt anything.
This thing is super fast at my local track, nothing in a 1/10 SCT can keep up, and i mean NOTHING! not even a NEW slayer pro with the new lowered center of gravity and a wider protrak suspension kit on it. This thing out handles, and out runs everything out there.
The tuning kit for the SCTE is a nice add on for this as well, Looks awesome and makes it very adjustable.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
losinitrostud
Location: keremeos bc cananda
I would recommend this to a friend!
check yr gear
 PostedApril 18, 2013
This truck has been a lot of fun. After a few tanks of run time the losi 3.4 is realy coming alive. The speed, noise and yes even the smell gets the heart racing. I cant put this darn truck away! A few tips would be to check all screws ect. The truck I received had loose hex screws in the center diff. and a few others. You will also want to check your gear mesh. The loose screws in the center diff caused the spur gear to strip in my truck. It was an easy fix as this kit is very modular. The motor, ross unbolt easy as do the front and back half of the truck. One other tip would be to set the throttle trim on your radio to zero. You may start your truck only to have it take off on you because the idle is too high. There is no factory setting for the idle screw so you may have to play with it. The customer service from horizon has been outstanding and any questions I have about regular running or advice on tuning have been answered by the knowledgeable staff with true interest and expertise.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nunya
Location: fl
I would recommend this to a friend!
tons o fun
 PostedFebruary 20, 2014
i've been doing this as a hobby for 6 years or so, and this car had me scratching my head a few times. but the pay off is tremendous! so for starters, like everyone said spur gear is first to go in initial start up. until it is tuned up just expect it to go out on you. order with purchase!. also order hex drivers because the kit does not come with anything worth talking about. and be sure to use locktite on all engine and r.o.s.s. bolts to ensure stability. before my purchase i read a lot about the car, and reviews. so i all ready knew what parts to order before i even ordered.i bought a three shoe clutch to replace the two shoe clutch it came with, for better torque and performance. beyond these minor issues this car far superseded my expectations. alot of fun and totally worth whatever you have to go through to get it running down the track.
Review 7 for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
burntrubber
Location: Coquitlam BC
I would recommend this to a friend!
Fun with Headaches
 PostedFebruary 21, 2014
This truck is a good value. On paper. For the price of a Losi SCTE race-roller, you get a complete RTR... Its fast, handles great, and is alot of fun. Right up until your one-way bearing for the ROSS system goes on you. Or the ROSS gears, or the connectors to the ROSS motor. I have less than 1 full gallon of fuel through this truck and have already replaced all of the those items plus a spur gear and the clutch bell bearings. When it does run, its great. Seems like a bit of a money pit as my now second one-way bearing appears to have expired already. I have been through the forums, and talked to local "experts", and everyone seems to agree...its time to convert it to electric. FAR less painful, but also it loses the mechanical "cool" that this truck has as a nitro. Great chassis, decent transmitter and servos, but just too painful to start.
Review 8 for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tonster9
Location: Delaware Oh
I would recommend this to a friend!
Great Truck!
 PostedMarch 20, 2014
This is by far my favorite nitro truck period! I love the R.O.S.S system and works flawlessly. I have the electric version and this is my first nitro in a couple of years and im happy i did purchase this truck! Its a great value, you get alot for your money. I love the engine, a ton of power and holds a tune very well! The break-in on the motor was easy and unlike the junk traxxas motors it only takes a few tanks, not 6 or 7. The only upgrade you will have to do is the steering servo, change it to a spektrum 6040. Go through the truck and make sure everything is loctited and take your time reading the manual and learning the truck. People that are having issue clearly did not go through the truck, and must be pretty new to the hobby. I would get another in a heart beat! Aslo the 1000mah battery last quite a bit, no need for an upgrade!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tonster9
 
Please wait while more information about Tonster9 is loaded.
Additional information about Tonster9 could not be loaded.
Posted March 27, 2014
Please read this guys!, my r.o.s.s gears did go out, only 1 gear had a chip in it, now because of that chip it binded up the system causing the control unit to go in overload protection. Guys before you go replacing the battery, glow plug etc, check the r.o.s.s gears. Losi you need to come out with a upgrade!
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
docsavage1
I would recommend this to a friend!
well worth the money
 PostedNovember 27, 2013
I have had this truck for a while now, I love it. the ross system is fine as long do the following steps, take the starter motor assembly form the engine, take the thing apart and lock tight the 2 screws that hold the electric motor to the assembly case, this will prevent motor from coming loose and destroying gears and such. #2 after re installing on engine, solder wires directly to the motor terminals. re install engine and ensure gear mesh is correct so you don't strip out the spur gear, also lock-tight these screws. (engine mount screws) top and bottom. after that this thing is a blast and fun to drive, was well worth the money.
as with any RTR vehicle there could be some assemble issues as mentioned above, overall this is the best deal for the money for a nitro 4wd short course truck.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firebird360
Location: Virginia
I would recommend this to a friend!
Unbelievable value
 PostedMarch 16, 2014
I've been into rc for over 20 years and I've never come across a better value for your hard earned money. The build quality and craftsmanship that are in this truck make it truly unbelievable that you can get one for $300. I've just finished running my first quart of fuel through the truck and the experience has been nothing but joy. The engine is very powerful, smooth running and very easy to tune. The R.O.S.S system is very cool, with just the push of a button you're up and running. I have no doubt that if you fully read the very well written instruction booklet, you will have no problems. I recommend for those new to the hobby to read the book while looking the truck over to familiarize yourself with the parts that the book is talking about.
User submitted photo
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
SCRevo
Location: South Carolina
I would recommend this to a friend!
Love-Hate Fun
 PostedNovember 18, 2012
Out of the box the truck is impressive, but then things went bad. The lipo charger didn't work, but I had one so I dealt with it. Once I made sure the binding process was correct and I checked bolts etc to make sure nothing was loose I started to break it in. The R.O.S.S. system is great, once it was primed it started right up. With a minute THE SPUR GEAR STRIPPED OUT. I called Horizon and in a few days I had a new spur and charger, CUSTOMER SUPPORT IS GREAT! New spur installed and AGAIN within a minute new gear was STRIPPED. With less than 5 minutes of run time the CLUTCH is worn out! So would I recommend this product, not if your new to Nitro RC, I own a RC shop and this has tested me. I highly recommend Horizon Hobby--Great company!
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
blackmamba
 
Please wait while more information about blackmamba is loaded.
Additional information about blackmamba could not be loaded.
Posted January 14, 2013
I was thinking about buying this truck just wondering how you fixed it if it happens to me
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
dge466
Location: port henry ny
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
ten T sct nitro
 PostedOctober 22, 2012
to many problems with car spur gear stripped out while breaking in-wrong size spur gear installed at factory. next time out clutch bad ,spring was so streached out the clutch engaging while trying to start,was still working on breaking in the eng. finally got it broke in , ran a few tanks of fuel then one way roller quit could not fix had to replace. engine never ran very well the whole time assumed it was still breaking in but got worse could not get tuned , so sluggish on takeoff will barely move didnt matter what i did new glow plug ,fuel tuning checked for leaks. ive given up going to set it on fire unless anyone has any suggestions. guess i just got a lemon.
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eyeluvrc
Location: Richmond California
I would recommend this to a friend!
Batteries are for flashlights
 PostedMarch 13, 2013
Excellent truck. You will need to check your gear mesh before getting started. The pinion and spur gear are not set so you will need to do so. The truck is very fast about 35 to 40 out of the box. Drives like a dream, not really for someone new to nitro, nothing is. You will need someone with a background in nitro to help you get started. This is for people who know nitro and just want the ease of the Ross starting system. This is the best nitro sct on the market
User submitted photo
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Breaththenitro
 
Please wait while more information about Breaththenitro is loaded.
Additional information about Breaththenitro could not be loaded.
Posted April 8, 2013
Where should I set my spur gear and pinion too? Did you up grade to a bigger spur gear as well?
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nitrobasher
I would recommend this to a friend!
losi ten sct nitro
 PostedMarch 12, 2014
this is my third nitro rc and it is easily my best. its fun to break in, its easy to tune and it holds its tune really good. i raced a traxxas rustler vxl with a 2 cell lipo and beat it. then took it to an indoor track it was really stable and could jump really good. it is one of the toughest nitro cars ive owned, i bash all the time and havent broken anything yet.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sean92886
Location: California
I would recommend this to a friend!
bad to the bone fast
 PostedMarch 1, 2013
It took me a while to tune then I had a guy at the track tune for me . Car made me look like a pro . 1st nitro car . Real confusing to dial in get help. now all I want is nitro . Everone at the track was hanging at my table and was suprised at how cheep it was and the elect start. Horizion has the best customer service. Thanks guys!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
njbasher
Location: New Jersey
I would recommend this to a friend!
Love it
 PostedFebruary 13, 2014
I received this truck last week. Put 6 tanks through it. This truck is fast! Big bang for the buck here. Definitely the easiest nitro I've owned.
My truck did arrive with a cracked body. A little duct tape fixed that. But Horizon Hobby sent me a brand new body! They earned a lifetime customer.
Highly recommend this truck.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 110 TEN-SCT Nitro 4WD RTR
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5